Precious Pineapple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
The best cake ever.I skipped the frosting and just used ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Easy to fix, and really great flavor even without anything extra. This is a cake that becomes more moist and flavorful over a few days if kept covered. Good one to fix ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This is an A+++ recipe. I bake cakes to take in to my volunteer job and made this one for today. I did some slight variations due to the fact that I have to double a recipe to take care of the numbers of servings I need to pass out to the soldiers and medical staff. I used two cake mixes and instead of 2 cans of pineapple, I used one 20 oz can and a 15 oz can of mandarin oranges in the cake . I made Cream Cheese Buttercream icing, adding fresh grated orange peel, 1 tsp of orange extract & 4 T fresh orange juice to the powdered sugar. After spreading the icing, I topped with coconut for a real Tropical theme cake. I omitted the pecans to avoid any possible nut allergies. This cake got RAVE reviews from the soldiers and staff at our military hospital.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Aspeotes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
My family gave this a 9. The husband take to work and his co workers rate my recipes. So thanks for submitting this one. Very delicate. I did add extra egg and next time I might add some coconut. But it's a 5 star as is. I also baked in 9x13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
It was really good! The frosting had a good taste to it and overall my family loved it! I will definitely make this cake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiabet50

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I added one more egg and used a butter recipe cake mix along with instant vanilla pudding as others suggested. I also added one cup chopped pecans and used a store bought cream cheese frosting then sprinkled pecans on top. Baked in 9 x 13 pan. It was fantastic! I took to a gathering and everyone wanted the recipe. Thanks so much for an easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
I took the other reviewers advice and added another egg (4) and baked it in a 13x9" pan. I baked it until a toothpick came out clean, and let it cool. I frosted it with cream cheese frosting sprinkled with coconut on top. It cut into squares okay, but when you cut each bite with your fork it was SO crumbly it just fell apart, and could only get crumbly bits onto your fork unless you smashed them together. The only bites that tasted good were the ones that had the frosting on it. The crumbles without frosting weren't sweet at *all*, and didn't taste very good. (Usually almost all cakes taste good even without frosting, for those that don't want frosting.) I wouldn't make this again, even to try it with just 3 eggs to see if it made any difference in how crumbly it was. (I'm guessing it wouldn't going by what others have said.) :( Sad it wasn't as good as some thought it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I doubled the recipe & made 2 pan style single sheet cakes & used white cake mix. I doubled everything & mixed 1/2 smart balance margarine & 1/2 unsalted butter. I also made it 1/2 low fat & half regular cream cheese. I added 4 more oz. of cream cheese to the icing(because it was too sweet & 1/4 tsp. almond extract. It made it more of a cheese cake icing flavor. I used chunk pineapple 20 oz. (it worked perfect in the mixer) I made it the night before, refrigerated it and served it for our church picnic. I froze the second cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Easy and great cake! We added one egg and reduced the amount of powdered sugar in the frosting to 3 cups. We didn't have any trouble with the cake falling apart - it was perfect - only trouble we had was fighting over the last piece. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I gave this a three star because the frosting is Amazing! The cake was bland and dry. Probably will not make the cake again, but will be using that frosting for other cakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States