Precious Pineapple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
With any cake mix, I use not only an extra egg, but a package of instant pudding. This adds flavor and moisture. As I like to go "fresh" as much as possible I use fresh pineapple. This turned out super.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This cake is the perfect dessert for company. After reading all the reviews and seeing the complaints about the 3 layers being too thin, this is what I did. Using the regular box cake, I also added a small box (Jiffy - 1 layer cake mix) to the batter. Of course, had to add more of the other ingredients. 3/4 cup butter, 5 eggs, 1 1/2 cans crushed pineapple and 3/4 cup pecans. ( toasted the pecans first for a really good flavor). I DID NOT increase the frosting and seemed to have just the right amount. Then baked in 3 pans. The cake was beautiful, nice high layers and presented well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I am wondering if I could substitute real butter for the margarine? I am looking forward to making this soon! thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Thanks, Linda, for a scrumptuous, easy recipe. I would give it 10* if I could. Only thing I did differently is that I used a pineapple cake mix & a 13" by 9" pan. Oh yea, I did add more pecans because I'm a nut who loves nuts!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Freeport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This was tastey but did tend to fall apart. I used 2 8" pans; put in freezer and cut them so I had 4 layers. I popped them back in the freezer and frosted them while they were still frozen. I used cool whip as I didn't know how the cream cheese frosting would hold up.I cut the first slice while frozen for photo. Because it took a couple of tries to get nice slices. I ended up cutting all the cake and placing on dishes while frozen so they would look nice. By the time we were ready to eat desert they were thawed. If I make again I would use a 13 x 9 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
this is simple and delicious. the only things i changed: used 9x13 pan (because i don't have three round pans and others said it fell apart, which i can see happening because it's so moist!) and i sprinkled nuts on top of frosting rather than in it (i though it would look nicer). it was wonderful and everyone loved it. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This cake is soooo moist and to die for. I used half sour cream/cream cheese and it still was perfect. Definitely recommend it!!!! Took me 5 minutes to throw it together in a 13x9 pan!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Excellent cake! It tastes good just as the recipe states OR sometimes I add some more pineapple juice and some crushed pineapple between the layers as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I used a yellow "pineapple" DH cake mix and subbed applesauce for the margerine, and used 3 eggs. Baked in a 9 x 13 pan to take to a reunion. No icing for us, we made it into a strawberry jello POKE CAKE. WOW, it was a super hit. One of the best and easiest cakes I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
This cake is delicious. I baked it in a 9 x 13" pan so I didn't have a problem with it falling apart as other bakers had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States