Preacher's Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
It is too sweet, I also didn't add the entire amount of liquid because I was afraid it would be swimming in it. I didn't use as much cool whip as they asked for either. Also, I wanted to add in to make sure you get cream of coconut. I think some of these people may have used coconut milk from the sound of their cakes! I won't be trying this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This cake turned out WAY too sweet. So sweet that it overpwered any coconut or pineapple flavor. Don't know if the the pineapple juice or creme of coconut was sweeter than it was supposed to be. Also, there seemed to be too much pineapple-coconut liquid to pour over the cake. Cake was swimming in it. Won't make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
I was craving pineapple and coconut, so I searched and found this recipe. I modified it just a hair by using coconut cake mix and adding crushed pineapple to the cool whip. Man, this cake is DEE-LISH! It's easy to make, too. I think it would be great with pineapple cake mix, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Friend made this for my birthday and it was very good! I can't wait to make this myself. I may mix pineapple with the cool whip and toast some coconut and sprinkle on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I'm not sure how I feel about this recipe's taste. I don't get a distinct coconut or pineapple taste. I am going to let it sit a little longer and try it again. Definitely would reduce the amount of Cool Whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
this was ok but just ok. wont bother making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Tastes better after being refrigerated overnight. I was disapppointed though that the sauce never thickened and the cake was "floating" in it in the pan. Was hoping for a pudding type consistency here. I bought Cool Whip to use for the frosting but we ended up just adding it to individual servings. This cake is VERY VERY sweet and to me, doesn't really need the added sugar. Some of the family didn't want it at all..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hebbronville, Texas, USA
Living In: Freer, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
This is a new favorite at office parties and family gatherings! Everyone raves, and it is so easy! Delicious and perfect for the summer months. I follow the directions exactly and it is perfect! Make it and you won't be dissapointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I made this cake for my room-mate, and it is his favorite cake ever. He is always asking me to make it again and again. It is soo moist and delicious. Really the best cake I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Good, but I didn't think the cake itself had much of a coconut flavor. It was VERY moist. I, too, didn't use all the mixture because I was afraid it would be a mess. I made a layer cake and mixed some crushed pineapple into the whipped cream. I sprinkled coconut all over the cake after it was frosted. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States