Preacher Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This is a recipe that my grandmother and mother have always made. We use creamy peanut butter instead of crunchy. It's great! I like to put the cookies in the refrigerator so they harden nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marybcurlyq

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Quick easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe for Preacher Cookies....I use it every time I make these tasty lil' gems, and will continue to do so in the future!!! What I do differently is I use creamy peanut butter and an extra 1/2 to 1 cup of the quick oats. The extra oats really make a difference and always helps the cookies set up more firmly for me....they turn out perfect every single time. I plan on making these again very soon!!! YUMMY. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I have loved these cookies since I was a child and now my littles are loving them! The key to these cookies setting up right is to bring them to a rolling boil and then begin the timer for 1 minute. I boil them for 2 minutes up here in the Rocky Mts. FYI-they are called Preacher cookies because you can whip them up pretty quick when the preacher calls for an unexpected visit :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlene

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I AM SO ADDICTED TO THESE COOKIE-CANDY TREATS!! LOVE THEM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Only change in ingredients I made was using creamy peanut butter. I wasn't sure when to start timing my minute - when you first start seeing bubbles or when it's boiling rapidly....so I started when I first started seeing bubbles and cooked it 1 minute 20 seconds. I also followed a previous reviewers suggestion of letting the mixture set up in the pot before dropping them on was paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I had the same problem some others mentioned. I followed the exact steps let boil for a full minute and no matter how long I waited they never hardened. I tried putting them in the fridge but they stayed the same consistency as play doh and were very sticky. I would not make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Love this recipe! The tips were exactly right and the cookies turned out perfect and were a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHAELLH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merkel, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I have been looking for cookies like these for a long time and I'm so happy to have found the recipe! My kids loved them and I will be making these often. It was great to also have such an easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimitha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Absolutely amazing. Brought them to work and they were gone in seconds! I have tried no- bake cookies several times and failed, but this recipe is right on. My only tweaks- I used creamy peanut butter and left them in the pan for a few minutes after combining the oats, stirring occasionally until the mixture firmed up a bit. I have always had problems with the set- up in other recipes but these were firm and perfect. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States