Preacher Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This is my second no bake cookie recipe I've tried and the same result. When cooling they did not harden like they are suppose to. No sure what I am doing wrong. I followed both recipes to the "T". Does anyone have any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2001
The only thing I changed in the recipe was using creamy peanut butter vs. crunchy. It is a great fast remedy for that feeling of "I-gotta-have-chocolate-quick-or-I'm-gonna-hurt-someone"!!! haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
These came out great, and my boys love em' too! I only had a half stick of butter on hand, so I used 1/4 cup shortening as well. For those that were finding they were to runny, make sure you boil the full minute, and then after all ingredients are mixed in, I stirred them in the pot for a little while to help the "dough" cool and harden a bit, as they were runny until they cooled a little in the pot. Then drop them on your wax paper, they should form great at that point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I've tried a few of these recipes and this was the only one that turned out like it was supposed to. I also used creamy peanut butter instead of the crunchy. The whole family loves these treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mountain City, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Trade, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I've been making these cookies since I was a little girl (we always called them 3 minute or No Bake cookies). I also use creamy peanut butter and I sometimes immediately pour the mixture into a 13x9 pan (lightly greased) to make bar cookies, instead of the drop cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2002
I had been looking for the recipe for months and I was glad to find it. They turned out wonderful just like the ones my aunt used to make when I was little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Only change in ingredients I made was using creamy peanut butter. I wasn't sure when to start timing my minute - when you first start seeing bubbles or when it's boiling rapidly....so I started when I first started seeing bubbles and cooked it 1 minute 20 seconds. I also followed a previous reviewers suggestion of letting the mixture set up in the pot before dropping them on was paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I had the same problem some others mentioned. I followed the exact steps let boil for a full minute and no matter how long I waited they never hardened. I tried putting them in the fridge but they stayed the same consistency as play doh and were very sticky. I would not make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This recipe is wonderful. Years ago I made the ones that you cook for 3 minutes, with that recipe sometimes they would harden and sometimes they would not. But, once I started using this recipe I have never had a problem with them setting up. I do use evaporated milk in mine an most of the time I use creamy peanut butter. Every once in a while I will add i cup chopped pecans and/or 1/2 cup coconut to this recipe. You can cook for about 20 seconds longer but i minute should be perfect. Thanks for sharing this awesome recipe! For thr oatmeal if you use anything but the quick cooking (1 minute kind), they will not taste right. The rolled oats will make them tough with a cardboard taste. Rolled oats are great but just not for these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
These will NOT SET UP in the rain!! If the weather is moist, they won't harden ;)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States