Prawns of Passion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
Served this as first course for my husband's Valentines' Day dinner. I was a little leary of all the garlic, even though I love garlic, so I reduced it to about 3/4 of what the recipe called for, and I thought it was perfect. Would definitely make this again for a quick, delicious and "pretty on the plate" recipe for company. Fresh parsley garnish is a must for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
Heavenly! This is decidedly a fantastic treat for the palate. What a delightful combination of garlic, tomato and shrimpiness. Be prepared, you will want more and more and more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
I made this with about half the butter, it was super easy and very yummy. Last minute I had to make it stretch for company, so I tossed it with some pasta, steamed spinach and cream cheese. Mmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
I'm almost at a loss for words, this dish is so good. Thank you so much Diane!!! My fiance absolutely adored your recipe and I felt as though I were eating a meal in a fine Italian restaurant. When I was preparing the garlic butter to be used in broiling the prawns, I was busy and inadvertently left the garlic to saute until it was a very light golden brown. Well, I thought this would be fine as it was, but that the garlic would be burned if left under the broiler the amount of time required to cook the prawns. So, rather than starting over again, I strained the butter from the garlic and tossed the prawns in the garlic-infused butter to broil. Then, as we were in the mood for pasta, I prepared rotini and tossed it with the garlic and a little olive oil. I served the pasta with some of the tomato garlic mixture and then the prawns spooned over. Sprinkled the lot with parmesan and parsley. We couldn't have been happier with the result. Diane is absolutely correct in saying that this is sexy food. Needless to say, the recipe has earned a spot in my five star recipe card file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADSISTER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocanville, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
We love garlic! You have to with this one, or it might be too much. I served it with pasta. Very good. Easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethany, Missouri, USA
Living In: Albany, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
This recipe should include a note of caution. If you make this recipe, there will definitely be love in the air. Just the smell of this cooking puts me in a great mood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
this was wonderful... we did set it over some tomatoe- basil flavored lingunie noodles and i added parmesan cheese to the garlic butter mix for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I had to half the recipe because I didn't have a big enough can tomatoes, but it worked well with 2 people. We had left overs. It was VERY yummy, I think next time I will use less butter it did seem a bit oily. I did a bit of basil to the tomato mixture just because it seemed odd not to have any spice. I did taste it before adding the basil and it tasted great too. I served it over linguine pasta. Because I halved the recipe it was a really quick dinner, the tomato mix didn't take any more than 15 minutes on medium to reduce into a sauce. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 star is because of the butter content. I will update when I try it again...perhaps it makes a huge difference in flavor?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Clinton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I made this for my man, and we both loved it! Now he always wants his prawns broiled in this garlic sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RissyLynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
We loved this. The sauce is good, but I love the shrimp in all that garlic and butter! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Jalapeno Nachos

See how to make simple, spicy nachos with shrimp and jalapenos.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States