Pralines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by LadyKrash
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Omg, delicious! When I die, I hope heaven has these pralines! I'm from GA, and got this recipe because another reviewer said it resembled the ones from River Street Sweets in Savannah (which are to die for!). They do, and they're awesome! The pralines at RSS are really expensive, so I'm super stoked that these taste almost exactly like them. I will be making lots for holiday gifts, and this recipe is DEFINANTLY finding a place in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
These had a great taste, but I can never get them to get to the firm consistency. If anyone has any advice on how to get these firm please resond!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim1430

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Excellent praline recipe. I have just come back from a trip to Savannah Georgia and brought River Street Sweets pralines home with me. My family loved them so much they begged me to make some pralines and I have to say, this recipe is very close to River Street Sweets. River Street Sweets pralines have a little more depth in flavor. I used light cream instead of milk. I let them sit 2 to 3 minutes before I poured them onto my cookie sheet. That seemed about the right amount of time...sooner and they would have been too liquidy and too much longer they would have been too hard. Next time I make these I will try using buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
This was my first try at Pralines and they were to die for!!! I did let them cook a minute or so before making them. They really are the best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Providence Village, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JStoddard
Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Excellent! Make sure to make them small, otherwise you get too much candy and not enough nuts. :)I will make this many more times, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JStoddard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
SWEET!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Very very good recipe! This was my first time to make pralines, and a candy thermometer and I don't get along, but it was easy to do by the water test. So very creamy, I used buttermilk instead of milk, and did the ice bath, poured 1/2, iced again and poured the rest. Awesome flavor, I will look no further, this recipe is a keeper to use over and over! Thank you for making pralines easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This recipe was excellent and very similar to the Pralines at River Street Sweets in Savannah, GA. I did not toast my pecans. The best outcome seemed to depend on when I poured them out on the cookie sheet. The ones that I spooned out immediately were too flat and glossy. The ones that I spooned out after the mixture had cooled were too crumbly. The ones that I spooned out after the mixture had cooled for 2-3 minutes were the perfect consistency. I would recommend waiting just a couple of minutes, then quickly spooning them onto the cookie sheet. I will definitely be making these many times over the holiday season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATHOMELAUREL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bucket of cookies
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I must say this was really good it was late at night when I made them so I didn't have any pecans so I used peanuts and they were still very good and was gone as soon as I made them so yes I will make them again and again. Thank you so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bucket of cookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States