Pralines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Great recipe! I love the pralines from River Street Sweets and these come pretty darn close. My husband couldn't stop eating them! I will definitely make these again. I didn't use a themometer but followed the instructions using the cold water. It worked great. It was almost like making the candy that coats candy apples. One other way to tell that the mixure is ready is when you get a good rolling boil and there are big bubbles. The color darkens just a bit. Try this recipe. You won't regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
These are so sweet! But I wouldn't expect less from a praline! I let mine cool almost too much sitting on the counter. I barely touched the pan to the ice bath after cooling and they lost their shine and were ready to scoop. They started to crystalize just as I was scooping the last two. My batch made eight large pralines with some sugary goodness leftover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I am a huge fan of River Street Sweets in Savannah, GA so I made these pralines and they taste exactly like the ones from River Street Sweets! Everyone in my family enjoyed them so much!! I did use the ice bath and it worked perfectly for the exact consistency that I needed. Great yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Sooooo good! Taste just like River Street Sweets in Myrtle Beach! I used half and half instead of milk. I added vanilla after I removed the mixture from the heat. I also used the ice bath and the mix cooled very quickly and made it hard to get the bundles onto the wax paper. Next time I will allow it to cool on its own. But the taste was magnificent!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I never made pralines because I thought it would be harder than making the old fashioned fudge. I was wrong. I just made these and they were easy and delicious. However, I did didn't toast the pecans and I left it in the icewater a bit too long and some of them were chunky -- but still so tasty it was hard to stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Here's my bit of advice. If you do not have a candy thermometer, and this is your first time making candy, do yourself a favor and go get one before you try this! I used the water glass "soft ball" test, but as a first-timer, I was unsure, and missed the perfect stage by a bit and ended up with sugar coated nuts that didn't stick together too well. They are super tasty, though, and I am ready to head out and buy a thermometer so I can try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
This was a good authentic praline recipe. I am from New Orleans and ate these while growing up. Now, I live in OK and there are not any good pralines to be found. Now, I can make my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Sorry, I was disappointed in this recipe. It was a runny mess and I wish I had read the reviews which explained about the ice bath. I ended up having to pour it all in a pan and it just tasted like pecan pie without the crust. I had hoped to give it as treats but ended up wasting enough ingredients for 2 batches. Live and learn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Westmoreland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I used to live in Atlanta, and would buy pecan pralines for my mom for Christmas. Then we moved, and now I can't find them. A friend suggested this recipe - I was nervous since I have never made candy and am no expect chef. But this recipe was fairly easy and DELICIOUS. They taste amazing. I used 2 cups of pecans (1.5 cups halves and 1/2 cup pieces), buttermilk, and the ice bath. I bought a candy thermometer for the first time, and I'm glad I did. I made the first batch as a test batch, but they're so good I'm bringing them to a party tomorrow. I hope they last that long, and I don't eat them all first! DELICIOUS pralines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Came out Great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: Missouri City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States