Pralines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I couldn't have made this without KikiNola. I used almonds, almond milk, and Earth Balance to make it vegan but her tips about cooking the mixture were important!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakingnotwriting

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I really missed these after leaving New Orleans, and it is great to find such an easy recipe to make them. I find it is best to let the mix cool a few minutes before spooning it out, because I've noticed its always the last ones that I spoon out that set first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenStudy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
These are just like the ones at the Savannah Candy Kitchen. You need to work fast when spooning out the candy if you use the ice bath method suggested by other reviewers. The candy hardens in the pan quickly that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I gotta say that this is the first time ive ever made pralines and it will definetly not be my last.... These things are phenomenal!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefshay3577

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Pralines should always be made with evaporated milk. Otherwise this was a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Fisher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
These pralines are excellent. I use exactly the same recipe which I got when attending a cooking class 20 years ago at the New Orleans School of Cooking on Decatur Street in New Orleans. The instructions in my recipe are to cook mixture to soft ball stage then remove from heat and stir until mixture starts to thicken and become cloudy. Immediately start to drop candy by spoonfuls onto large piece of parchment paper working quickly before the candy sets. Allow to cool before removing from paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Way too many suggestions in the reviews, so let me make another one. I recommend NOT using the ice bath if you use buttermilk or evaporated milk. But if you do and it gets hard too quickly, put it back on the stove on low, add a touch of milk, and let it remelt before dropping onto the wax paper. It may have some crystals but you will save the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mom2GrandChampionCook
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I made this exactly as it calls for. I lived in New Orleans for years and this recipe comes the closest to Aunt Sally's pralines! At first I was afraid they were going to be the chewy kind, but once they set up they were PERFECT! I stir mine continuously like they do at Aunt Sally's (last time I was there was a three weeks ago). The only thing different I did was add more pecans but only bc I have a ton of them in my backyard. When it started to boil I looked at the clock and added four minutes to the time. It might sound crazy but it worked for me. I wll post a pic too--it was taken RIGHT after I put them down on parchment paper, before they set up fully but I can assure you it didn't take them long to set up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
PLEASE READ If you plan to use this recipe! I made these pralines 2 nights ago and it was a total FAILURE. I followed it precisely which was a MISTAKE. After the mixture was at correct temp I took off heat and proceeded to spoon out on baking sheet! I had I had a gooey sticky MESS that spread out all over the baking sheet and never set up! I should have read the reviews that recommended a cooling in a ice bath before spooning out otherwise you will have a ugly mess on your hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
these were yummy, very close to ones we had in New Orleans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States