Pralines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I really liked this recipe. It was easy. I am a professional chef. I always heard that these were hard to make. I do not bake much at my current job. My wife wanted me to make these for her and they turned out great the first time, due to me reading the reviews the person from new orleans helped the most.The second time I over boiled and it turned into a strange brown sugar pile but I was able to bring them back by adding a splash of milk then returning them back the heat til they first boil again and they are just as good as before. Instead of dropping them on a sheet pan I dropped them into silicone molds heart shaped and coins. They turned out great. I would only want to experiment now with some different extracts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Amazing but lacked the detailed instructions that were Key in these turning out like they are supposed to. Read a bunch of reviews and tried again...golden. :). MUST do the ice water bath immediately after it comes to temp, whisk to incorp air and cool down THEN pour onto Silpat to cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GatorGirl25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I made this after reading several reviews and made a few changes based on suggestions and the came out PERFECT! 1st of all use evaporated milk. Second do not use the cold water bath but rather after reaching the proper temp remove from the heat and continue to stir for a few minutes until the mixture begins to tighten up just slightly then spoon onto parchment paper. The texture was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenjen0822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Texarkana, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Haughton, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Very good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Did not turn out at all! I have sugary pecans. The candy crystalized, it was all dry and nothing wants to stick to the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Easy recipe. Take your time and stir and use a thermometer and it is fail proof. I have had the best pralines in Charleston SC and this recipe is just like them. I would also increase pecans to 2 cups. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Melia Easton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
A candy recipe that worked! (Thanks for all the helpful hints in the reviews!). Here is something I tried that was such a huge hit, I thought I'd share. Make the recipe according to instructions, remove from heat and stir, stir. But before it gets too thick, pour over 3-5 quarts popcorn and toss until it finishes crystallizing. Praline popcorn is even better than caramel corn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I am from Louisiana and I normally don't make pralines because you can get them almost everywhere, but I moved to Iowa and they have no taste here so I decided to try this recipe. This is a great praline. It was easy and YUMMY. I added a half of cup of extra chopped nuts and made smaller portions then normal. If you make candy this is a recipe for you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
These are easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Looking at all the positive reviews I must be the only one that is doing something wrong... After falling in love with the pralines at River Street Sweets I decided at $17.99 a pound I'd better find a cheaper alternative before I go broke. I did everything according to the recipe. I used butter milk. I didn't do the ice bath step most people were suggesting. I let it cool at room temp while stirring. It poured and set up like it was going to work. After it completely cooled I attempted to peel off of wax paper and it fell apart. I was able to get one complete piece off the paper but it crumbled in my hand. It tasted okay but it was very grainy. I may try it one more time but only an insane person does the same thing and expects a different result. Any advice on what I am doing wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States