Pralines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I made this after reading several reviews and made a few changes based on suggestions and the came out PERFECT! 1st of all use evaporated milk. Second do not use the cold water bath but rather after reaching the proper temp remove from the heat and continue to stir for a few minutes until the mixture begins to tighten up just slightly then spoon onto parchment paper. The texture was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenjen0822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Texarkana, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Haughton, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Very good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Did not turn out at all! I have sugary pecans. The candy crystalized, it was all dry and nothing wants to stick to the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Easy recipe. Take your time and stir and use a thermometer and it is fail proof. I have had the best pralines in Charleston SC and this recipe is just like them. I would also increase pecans to 2 cups. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Melia Easton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
A candy recipe that worked! (Thanks for all the helpful hints in the reviews!). Here is something I tried that was such a huge hit, I thought I'd share. Make the recipe according to instructions, remove from heat and stir, stir. But before it gets too thick, pour over 3-5 quarts popcorn and toss until it finishes crystallizing. Praline popcorn is even better than caramel corn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I am from Louisiana and I normally don't make pralines because you can get them almost everywhere, but I moved to Iowa and they have no taste here so I decided to try this recipe. This is a great praline. It was easy and YUMMY. I added a half of cup of extra chopped nuts and made smaller portions then normal. If you make candy this is a recipe for you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
These are easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Looking at all the positive reviews I must be the only one that is doing something wrong... After falling in love with the pralines at River Street Sweets I decided at $17.99 a pound I'd better find a cheaper alternative before I go broke. I did everything according to the recipe. I used butter milk. I didn't do the ice bath step most people were suggesting. I let it cool at room temp while stirring. It poured and set up like it was going to work. After it completely cooled I attempted to peel off of wax paper and it fell apart. I was able to get one complete piece off the paper but it crumbled in my hand. It tasted okay but it was very grainy. I may try it one more time but only an insane person does the same thing and expects a different result. Any advice on what I am doing wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Very good. crumbly not chewy just like i like them. easy even for me and i burn everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
These are so easy and quick to make. Decided I would try the microwave recipe before did the stovetop one. From start to finish it takes about 20 minutes. Watch carefully when stirring and as soon as it looks like it would hold its shape, work very quickly with two spoons to spoon out the pralines. It sets up very fast once it starts to cool and you cannot reshape once it is spooned out or it looses its sheen. Made about six times for Christmas gifts and family gatherings but I only got about 14 to 20 pralines of a pretty good size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States