Pralines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
I love the French Quarter and enjoy the Pralines when I am there. The secret ingredient to fantastic Pralines is to use buttermilk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
My family loved this recipe. They didn't last long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harker Heights, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
Not sure what happened but we tried this twice and ended up with a sugary mess. At least we salvaged the pecan to use in another recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIFFANY11

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
This was my first attempt at making pralines and I was delighted with the results. We had just visited the French Quarter in New Orleans and I fell in love with their pralines. But these are not as creamy as theirs, a little more sugary. I did use Half n Half instead of evaporated milk so I don't know if this made a difference. I was very happy that they turned out on my first attempt. I cooked them to 239 deg which caused them to set up perfectly. Maybe I will never taste Pralines like the ones in Lousianna but I can hope.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dexter, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
I read a lot of the recipes and reviews and combined a lot of ides for this...and here's some useful info. Iused 2 cups pecans - both chopped and whole. Toast them for 10 minutes on 300 for a crunchier praline, stirring once. 3/8 cup butter is 6 Tablespoons. Use whole milk or even light cream. Use 1/2 teaspoon salt. Vanilla keeps its flavor best if stirred in after removing from heat. The ice bath was great idea as it needed to cool to coat the pecans the best. Then I cooled them in the freezer so I could eat them right away because they were yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
299 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2003
it was okay - yet I think I added a bit to much butter, maybe a tablespoon or two more..they turned out rather buttery..I followed a reviewers advice of the ice bath for about half of them, but they weren't as good as the other half which were partially cooled and then spooned on the sheet. It would also have been better if I had toasted the pecans first..but, they're still good! - for ice cream, cheesecakes, etc. Nothing beats the old-fashioned Louisiana pecan pralines though - mmmmm-mmmmmmmh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
I didn't really care for this recipe, the pieces stuck together and it was gooey. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canaan, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
Great recipe!! To make it a little more killer on the sweet tooth, I added sweetened condensed milk instead of evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
These pralines were awesome! A word of caution to anyone who is not familiar with candy making: when your mixture has reached the desired consistency/temperature, remove from heat and transfer hot pan to an ice bath. Beat the mixture until light in color and thick, then spoon (using two spoons) onto a baking sheet lined with wax or parchment paper brushed with butter. Let cool, then peel wax paper or parchement away from the pralines. The ice bath part is important as if you just cool slightly and spoon out then you will have a runny mess, not the praline shape that is desired. Other than that, this recipe was AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
675 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
I have never made pralines before and this recipe was easy to follow and produced delicious results. I toasted the pecans first, I might add a 1/2 cup more pecans next time because there ended up being a lot of coating (not a bad thing of course). I am going to sprinkle these on a pumpkin cheesecake. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States