Pralines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I was up till 1 a.m. making these. Not the recipe's fault. I don't have enough patience for candies. They looked great when they were done but so soft I couldn't pick one up with my fingers. I had poured them into mini muffin pans on top of a few chocolate chips, thinking the hot mixture would melt the chocolate chips. It did but the chocolate wouldn't adhere to the candy and I couldn't hold the candy because it was way too soft. I read that some people with the same problem dumped it all back in a pot and heated it up again to a little higher temperature. I did but I heated it too much,I guess, and plus it now had chocolate in it. This time I ladled out on buttered parchment paper. The end result was exactly like dark chocolate Turkish taffy! It doesn't taste bad but I won't eat it! I learned an awful lot about candy while I was waiting for it to heat though! 1. The heating is not a cooking process. It's an evaporation process. You're trying to evaporate the water out. The amount of water in the candy determines it's hardness/softness. 2. The most important ingredient is patience. It takes a long time to get it to the proper temperature and at some point it plateaus,but pay attention because after the temperature starts rising again it goes up quickly! 3. Chocolate burns at a lower temperature than sugar, so don't get impatient and jack the heat up because it's taking too long or you might burn the chocolate if it's in the recipe. 4. Don't make candy late a
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Awesome recipe! Just like they make in New Orleans! Only change I made was to decrease white sugar to 1 cup and increase brown sugar to 1 1/4 cups. This brings out the maple(y) flavor. I also did not toast my pecans, but only because I didn't have time. They were still great! I will definitely be making more of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
These were EXACTLY like the pralines I had in the French Quarter in New Orleans. I've been literally drooling about them ever since I left NOLA and I am SO happy that I found a recipe for what I've missed (and talked about) so much. I did a lot of research and looked at a lot of recipes to make pralines and although this was my first try, this is what I'd do again.I've never made any candy before and don't have a candy thermometer so I was nervous but these were super easy. As far as temperature goes, I used a meat thermometer (which went up to 220) and then after it maxed out, I used the soft-ball in ice method. It worked very well (I watched a couple of YouTube videos to help understand what I was looking for). As far as ingredients go, I waited to add the pecans until after the sugar mixture was boiling. I added the vanilla after I removed the mixture from heat. I did not place the pot in an ice bath. I simply removed from heat and continued to stir for about 3 minutes. I could feel and see the mixture thickening and glossing over. The first couple that I scooped out turned out PERFECTLY but by the last couple, the mixture had cooled down significantly in the pot so I'd recommend having your baking sheet directly next to the pot and moving quickly to get it out of the pan. The last couple still taste AMAZING but they're just a little messier looking. I was going to bring this to work for my coworkers but I don't think they're gonna make it through the weekend in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dana from Murrieta
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Pretty good Pralines. The taste is exactly like the ones you would find in New Orleans. Very easy to make however, when you are spooning the pralines onto the cookie sheet, be quick, as the product hardens quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana from Murrieta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I made 1/2 recipe and it turned out wonderful. I did not use the thermometer; just soft ball stage in cool water. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
These are awesome and easy. I read a few reviews and used various suggestions. I used evaporated milk instead of milk, waited until after cooking to add the vanilla, stirred in an ice bath, and boiled for three minutes vs using a candy thermometer. My husband and I love them. I might have made them a little big. I only got 10 out of one batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Very easy, even when my NEW candy thermometer didn't work... checked a rough estimate temp with a meat thermometer, and it still worked. Very good flavor- and since I'm physically disabled, and can't do the individual 'scoops', I spread them on a parchment lined cookie sheet, and cut them into even pieces the next morning. They are great !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Not having a lot of candy making experience, I was a bit nervous making this recipe. It was so easy and SOOO good!! I followed the advice of several others and used 2 c. toasted pecans, 1/2 t salt, and used evaporate milk. I didn't have any ice on hand for an ice bath, so I just used cold water. It turned out perfectly. I'll definitely be making these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
OMG, it worked!! I can't cook for squat and this was so easy for me. Now, I can make these at Christmas for gifts. I'm so excited that it actually worked and I feel like a big shot chef! My family loved them and were surprised that I pulled them off. I've actually gotten a few good recipes from this site. Yay! (I should add that I HAD to buy a candy thermometer in order to pull this off as I couldn't deal with the "soft ball" mystery nonsense.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
So authentic tasting and completely addictive. I would also agree with those who add more pecans. These are very sweet. The stirring is important to get right. I had to make a few batches before I really got it. Now it is a family tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States