Pralines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2001
I do not have a candy thermometer, so I let the mixture boil for 3 minutes. I used buttermilk and did not toast the pecans--mine were pretty fresh; I've found that toasted nuts are needed when they are not very fresh. Also,using a mix of broken pecans and intact halves seems to work best for me--I leave most of the halves intact to keep the flavorful pecan oils inside. I am from Louisiana, and had never made pralines myself, as I could easily obtain them back home. I now live out west, and have not been able to find them in my town. After the expense of having some shipped from New Orleans a couple of months ago, I decided to try this recipe after having reviewed several different recipes. I am really glad I did. This satisfied my praline craving without having to wait for the FEDEX man! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2001
This is a great praline recipe- I've never made them before and this was the first and will be the only recipe I try! Relatively easy- I'd just note that if you don't wait for the pralines to cool down a bit before spooning them out, they'll run all OVER the place and though they will still taste great, you'll have a real mess on your hands....yum! Pralines rule!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
It is a great Recipe. I loved it very much. I strongly suggest to toast the pecans regardless if they are fresh or bagged- It does enhance the flavor or the Pralines. Just a suggestion- If you are looking for an adult twist- Mix in a 1/4 cup of bourbon and Whiskey in with the pecans. They are a great bang for the holidays. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
I've never made pralines before, and I've always been intimidated by candy thermometers. This was the most delicious praline recipe ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2002
Mom made them, they were yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
I have never made pralines before and this recipe was easy to follow and produced delicious results. I toasted the pecans first, I might add a 1/2 cup more pecans next time because there ended up being a lot of coating (not a bad thing of course). I am going to sprinkle these on a pumpkin cheesecake. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
These pralines were awesome! A word of caution to anyone who is not familiar with candy making: when your mixture has reached the desired consistency/temperature, remove from heat and transfer hot pan to an ice bath. Beat the mixture until light in color and thick, then spoon (using two spoons) onto a baking sheet lined with wax or parchment paper brushed with butter. Let cool, then peel wax paper or parchement away from the pralines. The ice bath part is important as if you just cool slightly and spoon out then you will have a runny mess, not the praline shape that is desired. Other than that, this recipe was AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
682 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
Great recipe!! To make it a little more killer on the sweet tooth, I added sweetened condensed milk instead of evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
I didn't really care for this recipe, the pieces stuck together and it was gooey. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canaan, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2003
it was okay - yet I think I added a bit to much butter, maybe a tablespoon or two more..they turned out rather buttery..I followed a reviewers advice of the ice bath for about half of them, but they weren't as good as the other half which were partially cooled and then spooned on the sheet. It would also have been better if I had toasted the pecans first..but, they're still good! - for ice cream, cheesecakes, etc. Nothing beats the old-fashioned Louisiana pecan pralines though - mmmmm-mmmmmmmh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States