Pralines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I just tried this recipe after flopping at another praline recipe. I also did the ice bath for about 30-45 seconds at the most while continuously stirring the mixture. After the ice bath I put the mix into a mixing bowl and let it sit for about 2-3 mins tops (like another reviewer). Then I mixed it at med speed for about 1-2 minutes. They turned out perfect! I also used buttermilk instead of regular milk. The only thing I would change is, I would add the pecans after mixing it in the mixer (if you do that part). They got chopped up and I like them whole. Otherwise..deeelicious!! Very comparable to River Street Sweets. FYI - a friend of mine who frequents River Street asked them what ingredients they used for their pralines... They told her canned milk. I'm guessing evaporated milk. Might be something to try for some extra richness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I've never tried Pralines but gave it a go. For my taste, this was way too sweet so I won't make it again. The only change I made was I added a 1/2 tsp. of baking soda (as suggested in a Martha Stewart recipe) which makes it creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tastytaters

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Great recipe! I love the pralines from River Street Sweets and these come pretty darn close. My husband couldn't stop eating them! I will definitely make these again. I didn't use a themometer but followed the instructions using the cold water. It worked great. It was almost like making the candy that coats candy apples. One other way to tell that the mixure is ready is when you get a good rolling boil and there are big bubbles. The color darkens just a bit. Try this recipe. You won't regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
These are so sweet! But I wouldn't expect less from a praline! I let mine cool almost too much sitting on the counter. I barely touched the pan to the ice bath after cooling and they lost their shine and were ready to scoop. They started to crystalize just as I was scooping the last two. My batch made eight large pralines with some sugary goodness leftover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I am a huge fan of River Street Sweets in Savannah, GA so I made these pralines and they taste exactly like the ones from River Street Sweets! Everyone in my family enjoyed them so much!! I did use the ice bath and it worked perfectly for the exact consistency that I needed. Great yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Sooooo good! Taste just like River Street Sweets in Myrtle Beach! I used half and half instead of milk. I added vanilla after I removed the mixture from the heat. I also used the ice bath and the mix cooled very quickly and made it hard to get the bundles onto the wax paper. Next time I will allow it to cool on its own. But the taste was magnificent!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I never made pralines because I thought it would be harder than making the old fashioned fudge. I was wrong. I just made these and they were easy and delicious. However, I did didn't toast the pecans and I left it in the icewater a bit too long and some of them were chunky -- but still so tasty it was hard to stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Here's my bit of advice. If you do not have a candy thermometer, and this is your first time making candy, do yourself a favor and go get one before you try this! I used the water glass "soft ball" test, but as a first-timer, I was unsure, and missed the perfect stage by a bit and ended up with sugar coated nuts that didn't stick together too well. They are super tasty, though, and I am ready to head out and buy a thermometer so I can try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
This was a good authentic praline recipe. I am from New Orleans and ate these while growing up. Now, I live in OK and there are not any good pralines to be found. Now, I can make my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Sorry, I was disappointed in this recipe. It was a runny mess and I wish I had read the reviews which explained about the ice bath. I ended up having to pour it all in a pan and it just tasted like pecan pie without the crust. I had hoped to give it as treats but ended up wasting enough ingredients for 2 batches. Live and learn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Westmoreland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States