Pralines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Leelo
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Easy and tasty! The texture is perfect. I don't have a thermometer so I tested in cold water every 30 seconds until it balled up like the directions say. My husband said it was almost too sweet for him to eat the whole thing so I would recommend making them small so you can eat as little or as much as you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leelo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This is a great praline recipe, they turned out to be delicious! I lived in France, so I know a little about French pralines that are made of almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
DEFINATELY COOL these before putting them on the foil!! Otherwise they run and have trouble firming. Other than that, they are ADDICTIVE! My daughter and husband are in love with this recipe! Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Love at first bite! The only thing that I would recommend is that ice bath, or letting it cool down for a few minutes before spooning it out. No need to change anything in the recipe! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KariMercer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Fe, Texas, USA
Living In: Manama, Capital, Bahrain
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Easy to make but really, really sweet! You can only eat a piece of one. I would probably not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Made just as stated in the recipe. These turned out perfect, I did stir with a wooden spoon for a minute or two after pulling from the heat to ensure they set correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
So easy. Just like River Street Sweets Pralines. Now I don't have to wait to go to Myrtle Beach every summer to have some pralines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Makes a delicious candy especially when you follow the advice of other cooks and use buttermilk in the recipe. Make sure that you cook to the soft boil level and no further. The ice bath helps cool the candy but you need to work quickly or you will end up with a gritty mess. That's what happened to both of my batches. The first half of the pralines look great but as the candy cools, it becomes gritty and difficult to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I used buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherriel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
My husband and I have talked about the Pralines from River Street Sweets ever since our weekend visit to Charleston, SC 3 years ago. We live on the West Coast...I'm not sure they even know what a praline is out here. Well, now I'm 10 weeks pregnant and had a sudden craving for Pralines. This recipe is great. I did use 1/4 cup heavy cream and 1/4 cup milk. They so closely resemble River Street Sweets I'm not sure I'd be able to tell the difference in a tast test. Did ice bath for a couple of minutes, and let them cool for a couple of minutes. Came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States