Pralines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Really great recipe (simple if you own a candy thermometer!). I was out of vanilla however and substituted that for 1/2tsp of Almond Extract. Also, I did not use toasted pecans, just raw pecans. I added them after the mixture was at temp. Then I mixed it all continuously till it stopped being glossy and started thickening. Then I put then on a sheet to cool. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
The taste was good but the directions weren't. I did everything it said except i used walnut cause i didn't have any pecans and then poured it over the top of a cake. it was good but it was real runny and made a HUGE mess! i think that ice bath idea would've been real helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I'm from New Orleans and have been making pralines since I was a child. The proportions of this recipe are about right, but it leaves out the most essential step, which is beating the mixture after it reaches soft ball stage until it develops a matte sheen. The texture should have tiny crystals. The pralines should snap when you break them, and melt in your mouth. It takes some practice to know exactly when to stop beating -- too soon and you have a translucent caramel. If you go too long, the mixture is too thick to spread when you're dropping them. Another trick is to not stir the syrup after it starts boiling to prevent early crystallization. If you're tempted to scrape down the sides, don't do it -- instead, cover the pot a couple of minutes and let the steam wash them down. Also, we always used raw pecans, not toasted. A pinch of salt brings out the flavor of the pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
669 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This was my first time making Pralines and it was a success! I made them for my husband who had mentioned over the years that Pralines were one of his favorites. I have never had them before and after making them, they are a little too sweet for me (and I love sweets!).....but he loved them so I gave them 5 stars. One change I made to the recipe after reading all the reviews was using evaporated milk instead of milk. I was a little intimidated after reading about the ice bath, but after the successful soft ball test.....I placed the pan in cold water in the sink for a few minutes trying to cool it down. I didn't think it was a big deal if the first ones were hotter and flatter....I just came back to those a few moments later and added more to the tops. One thing I may want to try differently.....and this would be more for my tastes, not my husbands. I would like to try either cutting back on everything except the pecans or adding more pecans. I think toasted pecans with just enough coating to cover only the nut would be really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Boiled about 3-4 min. at a full boil. The first couple I took out of the pot were too thin, had to wait about 3-5 min. to let them cool down enough. Didn't have a lot of ice, so I used a cold water bath. They haze over when they start getting cool enough, and they look more creamy colored than a translucent caramel color. They are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momto3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
These are so wonderful! Super easy to make. I made these twice already - the first time I used the ice bath like others suggested but I think it cooled my praline batter too quickly so my pralines were crumbly and lumpy. Second time I just beat for 2-3 minutes away from heat and they came out much better. I added 1/2 tsp of salt and used half n half instead of whole milk. Definitely a keeper - I brought these to work for a cookie tasting event, and they were gone before the event even started - they were that delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
The best! I grew up in New Orleans and since I moved away Ive missed eating pralines. These are the pralines I remember as a kid. I used half & half and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by houston_mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I am from New Orleans and my dad made these all the time. The only thing I changes I made is, using heavy cream instead of milk. It makes them creamier, also my pecans were not toasted and you can use coconut too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This recipe is okay, instead of milk I used 2/3 cup evaporated milk(makes them creamier) 1 1/2 cups brown sugar, and waited to add the vanilla til they we're cooling so you could taste it more. I don't have a candy thermometer so I did the soft ball test. (put a cup or 2 of water in a bowl with ice cubes, let it get cold while cooking, then drop a small amount in ice water if you can form a soft little ball out of the mixture that flattens down when removing it from the ice water its ready!) After cooking I put pan in ice bath, added vanilla and pecans, and constantly stirring, it will thicken up within a minute or two, then I spoon out on wax paper! Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Wow! Just got back from a trip to Georgia and these ARE like the Savannah pralines! On the advice of others, I used an additional 1/2 c. pecan pieces, chopped, and evaporated milk instead of regular milk (I heard somewhere that that is what they use). I didn't bother toasting the pecans although I imagine they would add some nice flavor. Still tasted good w/untoasted, so if you don't have the time to toast, I wouldn't sweat it. I used a candy thermometer, and after it reached the soft ball stage, I took it off the burner, added the vanilla and stirred quickly. Because the ice bath seemed a little too much overkill for some reviewers (and it wasn't setting fast enough for me!), I just filled the sink w/cold water and dipped the bottom of the pan for maybe 5-10 seconds. I removed the pan and stirred the heck out of it, then used a small cookie scooper to immediately scoop the stuff onto the foiled pans. I figured that if these are as sweet as some say, I'd opt for the smaller sizes. They're ready almost immediately! I love baking, but candies have always eluded me in the success category. I am shocked that these not only turned out, but they turned out GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States