Pralines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Spectacular! I've never made pralines before, but I will never use another recipe! These are great! The first few that came out of the batch look like the ones in the picture. I think I may have cooled the mixture too long before spooning it out, because the last ones don't look as pretty. But they are delicious! and the recipe was so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I had never attempted to make pralines, but I am so glad I tried these! They are delicious, just like in candy/fudge shops. This will be a holiday staple for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
These were sooo good! I followed the recipe exactly, and used the ice bath suggestion from a reviewer..and wanted to suggest to anyone trying this technique, do not let it sit too long in the ice- the mixture cools down really fast and made it way too thick and lumpy...not the nice glossy appearance I would expect for pralines. I think would skip the ice bath altogether next time. They were delicious anyway..thanks MARKR, for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yumms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
these were awsome and a big hit with everyone. The taset was amazing the only thing that i have a lil negtive about them is that i was looking for them to be more crunchy as i was putting them into an ice cream cake but every thing else was like i said before they are awsome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I've been looking for this recipe for years, its perfect just the way it is. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellymc125

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
The ingredients were perfect. Using the advice of users FRALTONY and kikinola, mine came out perfect the first time (and only time I have ever tried to make them). My only additional tip would be to use Canter sugar (extra fine ground) instead of regular white sugar. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amyc519

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Really great recipe (simple if you own a candy thermometer!). I was out of vanilla however and substituted that for 1/2tsp of Almond Extract. Also, I did not use toasted pecans, just raw pecans. I added them after the mixture was at temp. Then I mixed it all continuously till it stopped being glossy and started thickening. Then I put then on a sheet to cool. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
The taste was good but the directions weren't. I did everything it said except i used walnut cause i didn't have any pecans and then poured it over the top of a cake. it was good but it was real runny and made a HUGE mess! i think that ice bath idea would've been real helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Marie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I'm from New Orleans and have been making pralines since I was a child. The proportions of this recipe are about right, but it leaves out the most essential step, which is beating the mixture after it reaches soft ball stage until it develops a matte sheen. The texture should have tiny crystals. The pralines should snap when you break them, and melt in your mouth. It takes some practice to know exactly when to stop beating -- too soon and you have a translucent caramel. If you go too long, the mixture is too thick to spread when you're dropping them. Another trick is to not stir the syrup after it starts boiling to prevent early crystallization. If you're tempted to scrape down the sides, don't do it -- instead, cover the pot a couple of minutes and let the steam wash them down. Also, we always used raw pecans, not toasted. A pinch of salt brings out the flavor of the pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
698 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This was my first time making Pralines and it was a success! I made them for my husband who had mentioned over the years that Pralines were one of his favorites. I have never had them before and after making them, they are a little too sweet for me (and I love sweets!).....but he loved them so I gave them 5 stars. One change I made to the recipe after reading all the reviews was using evaporated milk instead of milk. I was a little intimidated after reading about the ice bath, but after the successful soft ball test.....I placed the pan in cold water in the sink for a few minutes trying to cool it down. I didn't think it was a big deal if the first ones were hotter and flatter....I just came back to those a few moments later and added more to the tops. One thing I may want to try differently.....and this would be more for my tastes, not my husbands. I would like to try either cutting back on everything except the pecans or adding more pecans. I think toasted pecans with just enough coating to cover only the nut would be really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States