Pralines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Pralines should always be made with evaporated milk. Otherwise this was a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
These pralines are excellent. I use exactly the same recipe which I got when attending a cooking class 20 years ago at the New Orleans School of Cooking on Decatur Street in New Orleans. The instructions in my recipe are to cook mixture to soft ball stage then remove from heat and stir until mixture starts to thicken and become cloudy. Immediately start to drop candy by spoonfuls onto large piece of parchment paper working quickly before the candy sets. Allow to cool before removing from paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Way too many suggestions in the reviews, so let me make another one. I recommend NOT using the ice bath if you use buttermilk or evaporated milk. But if you do and it gets hard too quickly, put it back on the stove on low, add a touch of milk, and let it remelt before dropping onto the wax paper. It may have some crystals but you will save the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mom2GrandChampionCook
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I made this exactly as it calls for. I lived in New Orleans for years and this recipe comes the closest to Aunt Sally's pralines! At first I was afraid they were going to be the chewy kind, but once they set up they were PERFECT! I stir mine continuously like they do at Aunt Sally's (last time I was there was a three weeks ago). The only thing different I did was add more pecans but only bc I have a ton of them in my backyard. When it started to boil I looked at the clock and added four minutes to the time. It might sound crazy but it worked for me. I wll post a pic too--it was taken RIGHT after I put them down on parchment paper, before they set up fully but I can assure you it didn't take them long to set up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
PLEASE READ If you plan to use this recipe! I made these pralines 2 nights ago and it was a total FAILURE. I followed it precisely which was a MISTAKE. After the mixture was at correct temp I took off heat and proceeded to spoon out on baking sheet! I had I had a gooey sticky MESS that spread out all over the baking sheet and never set up! I should have read the reviews that recommended a cooling in a ice bath before spooning out otherwise you will have a ugly mess on your hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
these were yummy, very close to ones we had in New Orleans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Spectacular! I've never made pralines before, but I will never use another recipe! These are great! The first few that came out of the batch look like the ones in the picture. I think I may have cooled the mixture too long before spooning it out, because the last ones don't look as pretty. But they are delicious! and the recipe was so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I had never attempted to make pralines, but I am so glad I tried these! They are delicious, just like in candy/fudge shops. This will be a holiday staple for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
These were sooo good! I followed the recipe exactly, and used the ice bath suggestion from a reviewer..and wanted to suggest to anyone trying this technique, do not let it sit too long in the ice- the mixture cools down really fast and made it way too thick and lumpy...not the nice glossy appearance I would expect for pralines. I think would skip the ice bath altogether next time. They were delicious anyway..thanks MARKR, for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yumms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
these were awsome and a big hit with everyone. The taset was amazing the only thing that i have a lil negtive about them is that i was looking for them to be more crunchy as i was putting them into an ice cream cake but every thing else was like i said before they are awsome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States