Pralines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Perfect - just like I remember from growing up in Texas. I am not an experienced candy maker and these turned out great on my first try! As soon as it reached temperature (about 3 minutes after starting to boil - I checked frequently with my electronic food thermometer), I removed the pan from heat and stirred briskly for a couple of minutes to let it cool and start to thicken a bit before dropping by the spoonful onto parchment paper (I did not do any ice bath as some other reviewers have done). Then I proceeded to nearly make myself sick scraping the leftover candy from the pan and eating it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
AH-mazing!!! I bought some boxed pralines from a well known NOLA bakery from another well known brand name discount store that were quite pricey for 4 pralines...but I figured if they were half as good as some I had when there then it was worth it and I couldn't get into too much trouble with 4 of them...;-) haha Well I'll never buy another again- this was my first attempt at pralines though I am a baker- not too well versed in candy but my father JUST gave me his mother's old candy thermometer so I was thrilled to use it and give this a shot. Thanks for the recipe but just as much thanks for the comments. I read every one believe it or not! Definitely missing a crucial step that it appears left some reviewers pulling their hair out and giving a poor review. You MUST let it cool down some WHILE stirring vigorously- I know it's probably an "art" as so many southern recipes are and you learn by doing over and over what it will look like when it's perfect but I tell you what- I think I was pretty darn close- gets somewhat opaque and thickens up a little. But a word to the wise- have everything you even think you will need within reach- I still ended up rushing when the parchment slipped off and I lost my smaller spoon into the mix when I set it down to fix it- too hot to get so had to get a new one... all ended well but that could have ruined the whole thing!:) My last two were almost too set up to "drop" nice and smooth! Used evap. milk and def. roasted pecans in dry skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Didn't have a candy thermometer. Covered and cooked for three minutes, as someone suggested. Turned out perfect. Also added vanilla at the end. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missjoybell
Home Town: French Creek, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Parsons, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I really liked this recipe. It was easy. I am a professional chef. I always heard that these were hard to make. I do not bake much at my current job. My wife wanted me to make these for her and they turned out great the first time, due to me reading the reviews the person from new orleans helped the most.The second time I over boiled and it turned into a strange brown sugar pile but I was able to bring them back by adding a splash of milk then returning them back the heat til they first boil again and they are just as good as before. Instead of dropping them on a sheet pan I dropped them into silicone molds heart shaped and coins. They turned out great. I would only want to experiment now with some different extracts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Amazing but lacked the detailed instructions that were Key in these turning out like they are supposed to. Read a bunch of reviews and tried again...golden. :). MUST do the ice water bath immediately after it comes to temp, whisk to incorp air and cool down THEN pour onto Silpat to cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GatorGirl25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I made this after reading several reviews and made a few changes based on suggestions and the came out PERFECT! 1st of all use evaporated milk. Second do not use the cold water bath but rather after reaching the proper temp remove from the heat and continue to stir for a few minutes until the mixture begins to tighten up just slightly then spoon onto parchment paper. The texture was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Very good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Did not turn out at all! I have sugary pecans. The candy crystalized, it was all dry and nothing wants to stick to the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Easy recipe. Take your time and stir and use a thermometer and it is fail proof. I have had the best pralines in Charleston SC and this recipe is just like them. I would also increase pecans to 2 cups. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
A candy recipe that worked! (Thanks for all the helpful hints in the reviews!). Here is something I tried that was such a huge hit, I thought I'd share. Make the recipe according to instructions, remove from heat and stir, stir. But before it gets too thick, pour over 3-5 quarts popcorn and toss until it finishes crystallizing. Praline popcorn is even better than caramel corn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States