Pralines II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I burned the first batch when the phone rang....I started over and was afraid I was going to burn the second batch but I kept stirring even after it started to boil.Took longer than 45 minutes and it was very thick! I had a pan with 12 openings [square],greased it with unsalted butter ,pecans and about 1/3 cup of the hot candy. I placed a whole pecan on the top and smiled.They were shiny and beautiful! My husband and I ate the little ones I turned out on Parchmont paper.We were impressed! Very nice candy .Thank you for sharing. I will carefully make these again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancyjane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
These were awesome! A big hit in my house. These are going on my list for Christmas baskets. I liked that they were very easy---no need to stand at the stove stirring for a long time. Once it starts to boil you stop stirring and just keep an eye on the candy thermometer. Keep in mind that they start to firm up within a few minutes once you start putting them on the cookie sheets. So move quickly. My 12-year-old daughter put the pecans on to help with that. Thanks for a fun and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I was in the mood for pralines and decided upon this recipe. I am just learning how to make candies and this turned out wonderful! It was so smooth and melt in your mouth delicious. Very sweet of course too. I have a gas stove so I started off with low heat like the recipe said and kept it there for the whole recipe - basically from fear that it'd burn and not turn out well if I turned up the heat (like I said, not an experienced candy maker yet) It sure took a while to get to 240F like this but the end result was worth it. I will definitely make this recipe again, daring to venture into turning up the heat next time as the recipe states. I also toasted my pecans. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by KIM ROSS
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
OMGosh...... These pralines are DELICIOUS and I DIDN"T CHANGE A THING!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIM ROSS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Really a good recipe and they were eaten as soon as I finished. This is a sign of a great praline. I made two other batches and they came out hard and gooey ... sad. I recommend being patient because they cook a little longer than you think. :) P.S I used my large baking silicone mat on the counter ... worked just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I don't write reviews often but this recipe deserved one. These pralines turned out perfect! In fact, they were better than the ones I bought at a specialty candy store in Atlanta. Follow the recipe EXACTLY as written and you too will have perfect pralines! My husband wanted me to also say that he thought they too were awesome! Thank you Melissa for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Great recipe, just not user friendly as it is hard to decipher when the caramel sauce is done. I think I overcooked mine:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Ann

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cambridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
The taste is very good, but wax paper is not what you should use. The hot candy will melt the wax. Unless you like paper stuck to the bottom of your pralines, you will be disappointed. I threw out my first batch because of this. For the second batch I switched to parchment paper and they turned out fine. They do start to set up quickly so work fast. Two tablespoons was the technique I used. One to scoop up the mixture and the other to catch the drippings as I moved to the paper. The second spoon also help get all the mixture off the first spoon. They are easy to make and can be made well in advance of gifting. Thanks for an easy and tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mineola, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Excellent recipe,,, I lined my cookie sheet with graham wafers and poured the mixture over. Cool and broke into pieces,,, extra yummy!!! worth trying,,, you won't be sorry.... lydd
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lydd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Green Grape Salad

This dessert salad is creamy with bursts of grape flavor.

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Whipped Cream

Top your favorite desserts with rich whipped cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States