Pralines, Coffee and Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2000
I have baked this cake for three different parties and it has received raves every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
This is a fabulous cake to make when entertaining. Everyone thought it was delicious and wants the recipe. Definitly not for children. mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2001
This is a fabulous cake - outstanding! Very impressive and gourmet tasting! I made it for a gathering, and everyone profusely praised it and wanted the recipe. Absolutely the best, and easy too! Not inexpensive, though, since Kahlua and 1 1/2 cups pecans aren't cheap, but I must say this cake is worth every penny! Thanks for sharing the recipe!!My only suggestion would be to downsize the Cool-Whip from 12 oz. to 8 oz. size. There was so much frosting that I discarded some of it. I also think by downsizing the Cool-Whip that the flavor of the vanilla pudding would show through a little more and enhance the frosting. I highly recommend this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2001
I can't remember a cake I've made that was such a hit! Everyone asks for the recipe when I make it. No one can guess what's in it. I wouldn't serve it to non-drinkers though. Be sure and cool the cake completely before frosting it. One time I made this, I followed the instructions on the cake box (called for egg whites instead of whole eggs, and 2 Tbl. oil instead of 1/2 cup). I wished I hadn't done that - the texture just wasn't right. I have found that 1 cup of milk is better than 1 1/2 cup - otherwise, the frosting is a bit too runny. Note that 1 1/2 cups pecans is a 6 oz. package. Thanks so much for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2001
All I can say is "WOW"! What a delicious cake...thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2001
Delicious! My husband has ranked it as his new favorite over eclair cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2000
This is a great crowd pleaser,I always have to make this cake when I get invitied to a party,I now make "2" because one is not enough.A great cake for adults they love the Kahula flavor. Marlene Ohrman Charlotte,NC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2000
This was the easiest recipe to make, and everyone who had it thought it was absolutely fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
Oooh yeah! This is a great cake! Now I'm getting numerous requests for this recipe! Thanks Mike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
I made these for a baby shower I was attending. I'm chocolate fan myself, but I know not everyone shares my chocolate obsession. Needless to say, everyone who tried these squares, was in love with them. They are Fabulous!! I also like the fact that they have a more grown up taste (its not just kids who like sweets).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States