Pralines, Coffee and Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
This was absolutely, hands down amazing. There is no other way to put that. The cake was delicious, the pralines were perfect and the frosting was spectacular. I did have concerns at first about the frosting. It didn't seem to thicken up correctly when I was beating it, but I went ahead and spread it on the cake, and stuck it back in the fridge overnight. It really helped. I made totally as is, but one thing I will do next time is a layer cake, proabably round our square, with pralines topping on both, after it's chilled, spread a layer of the frosting on top of one of the cakes, and drop the other right on top. Something I did do, that the folks who uploaded photos didn't, was to go ahead and frost over the praline layer. It helped cut a little of the richness (pralines and cream!) and was a nice surprise for those who didn't know it was there. I highly recommend going that rounte. I've already had 3 people ask me to make this for birthdays or other events just after trying it this first time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This cake is a hit every time I make it. The "cream" concoction makes the cake very moist and rich. I sometimes substitute the cool whip with whipped cream and that works well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LFerreira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheGoddessGiGi
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Very unique cake. It is really rich, and like some of the others said, it's definitely a 'grown-up' cake. I made it for a birthday, so to make it prettier I made two 8 x 8 cakes, put the pralines on top, then put icing in the middle and on the sides. I also reserved some icing to use as a border, melted some butter and a square of bakers chocolate and added that to the reserved icing. I put the border around the praline top, and at the bottom. The whole thing was absolutely delicious, and it looked great that way, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheGoddessGiGi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I made this cake for my church group, but I was disappointed. I really expected something amazing and this just wasn't. It was good, but not spectacular. There was way too much praline topping and too much frosting which annoyed me because I hate wasting food! I also was not that impressed with the frosting... not much flavor there. I just expected to be really "wowed" with this recipe after reading the reviews... and it was just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Great Cake! If I could, I would give it 10 stars. Needed a quick dessert for a Red Hat Party, everyone loved it. Use 1 cup instant Espresso coffee and added 2 tsp. Brandy extract to cake. For topping, used Fat-free White Chocolate pudding instead of Vanilla pudding. I had many requests for recipe. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Everyone loved this when I took it to potluck dessert, and have had repeat requests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This was very good. I made it and we ate it the first time a day later. It tasted good but 2 days after I made it we all thought it was the best the 2nd day. I don't know if the flavors went through it better but much better the 2nd full day after I made this. I made a 2 layer cake. I put part of the brown sugar mixture between the 2 layers. I wish I would have put the whipped crem mixture also between the 2nd layer because it makes plenty even with cutting the whipped cream down to 8 oz. like many suggested. Will prob. make again. Very rich. I used a homemade Kahula and tasted great with that. Not to overpowering at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rushmore, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I took this to a mardi gras dinner - it was really the hit of the party! You may want to try to use a deeper 13x9 pan, as the top layer/frosting makes the cake quite high. Putting a lid on most rectangular cake savers will end up smashing down the frosting. Won't look as nice, but will still taste fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I think of this as a cake for grown-ups. Its flavors are a bit sophisticated and complex. Always a hit - people remember it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaMock

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
great recipe; always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States