Pralines, Coffee and Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Very tasty cake. I too used the butter pecan cake mix & added a little bit of instant coffee to the batter. My only negative comment is that the frosting was not really thick/stiff enough to frost the entire cake but it worked well in between the layers. I ended up with extra pecan stuff and frosted the sides with it and the top with the frosting and piped plain whipped cream on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smj1122

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Strasburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Soooo good. Didn't add the liquor since some people at work don't like that flavor. Delicious without it. Next time I'll add it and see which way is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Very good recipe, esp for those who don't like chocolate, Kahlua is a bit overpowering though. Make sure you let the cream cheese come to room temp so the frosting will be smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
What's not to love about these ingredients? So I was totally shocked when I took the first bite of this cake, which I made for my husband's 35th birthday, and cringed all over. It is waaayyyy too sweet, something that hardly ever comes out of my mouth, and tastes very artificial and just not good at all. I followed the directions as stated, and don't even know what I could change to make this recipe work. Only reason for the 2 star rating instead of 1 star is because the praline topping part of it is usable maybe on some cinnamon rolls or something. Husband and children did not like it either. I felt bad for my husband as he was looking forward to trying this recipe as much as I was. Ick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I made this several years ago during the holidays and it was devoured. Now it is a requested fave. It does need to be refridgerated b/c of the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This is a delicious cake, and the praline mixture puts it over the top in terms of taste. Really yummy. Note that the photo shows a two-layer cake with icing on the side of the cake. The directions call for a 9x13 pan. I used the 9x13 pan and put icing over the top of the praline mixture. I also used 1 cup of cooled coffee left from breakfast instead of the coffee liqueur.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
Oh my! This was one of the best cakes I have ever had! I used a cup of strong instant coffee instead of the liquer and used about 1/3 the amount of pecans (just because they are expensive) and an 8 oz container of cool whip instead of 12. It turned out perfect!! Definitely recommend this to anyone looking to indulge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clarion, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
The only part of this recipe I used was the cake itself.I think 1 cup of coffee liquor was way to much and it tasted strange and kind of nasty. But maybe if I had also used the toppings and frosting it wouldn't have been bad. I used my own frosting. It just tasted strange to me though. (My frosting was good, the cake's flavor was strange)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I think that you should know that the icing along is worth five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Excellent! Husband, sister-in-law, and I loved it. It is rich, very filling, and yummy. Sister-in-law suggests less kahlua, will try 3/4 cup next time. Maybe will try adding nutmeg. Overall, 5 star recipie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LKP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States