Pralines, Coffee and Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2001
I can't remember a cake I've made that was such a hit! Everyone asks for the recipe when I make it. No one can guess what's in it. I wouldn't serve it to non-drinkers though. Be sure and cool the cake completely before frosting it. One time I made this, I followed the instructions on the cake box (called for egg whites instead of whole eggs, and 2 Tbl. oil instead of 1/2 cup). I wished I hadn't done that - the texture just wasn't right. I have found that 1 cup of milk is better than 1 1/2 cup - otherwise, the frosting is a bit too runny. Note that 1 1/2 cups pecans is a 6 oz. package. Thanks so much for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
What a super cake! I used a butter pecan cake mix and substituted a cup of strong coffee for the coffe liquor (since the last cake I made that called for a cup of it tasted of nothing but booze) and the cake turned out great. The praline layer was positively delicious, and the frosting? Y-U-M! I got so many compliments on the frosting itself as well as the cake when I brought it into work. The whole thing was just rich and delicious and great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2001
This is a fabulous cake - outstanding! Very impressive and gourmet tasting! I made it for a gathering, and everyone profusely praised it and wanted the recipe. Absolutely the best, and easy too! Not inexpensive, though, since Kahlua and 1 1/2 cups pecans aren't cheap, but I must say this cake is worth every penny! Thanks for sharing the recipe!!My only suggestion would be to downsize the Cool-Whip from 12 oz. to 8 oz. size. There was so much frosting that I discarded some of it. I also think by downsizing the Cool-Whip that the flavor of the vanilla pudding would show through a little more and enhance the frosting. I highly recommend this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
I've made this recipe 4 times now and everyone flips over it. One thing you may want to consider: rather than spreading the frosting on the cake I split it evenly with sewing thread forming a top and bottom layer and spread the frosting in between, pouring the pralines directly onto the cake (otherwise the pralines melt the frosting!). When I serve it I put a small dolop of frosting on the side as well. This makes a much cleaner presentation. Make this cake. You will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
This is WONDERFUL!! I used caramel liquer instead of coffee.....awesome! I used this for gift giving to our employees! I just used two 8x8 cake pans & split the pecan mix and then the topping in half. This worked out very well! Thanks for helping my gift giving!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEARDQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
I made this cake with chocolate cake mix and Irish cream. The cake was delicious. The pecan topping, however, tasted grainy. I substituted 1 1/2 cups white sugar melted and caramelized, added the pecans and a pinch of baking soda, then poured the hot mixture over the cake. The topping was to die for and so easy. I used it to frost another cake (a friend used it on her carrot cake and got rave reviews). Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
I made this for Bosses' Day and took it in. It was a huge hit by everyone who tasted it. Several people have already asked me for the recipe. I changed it a bit by using an 8 oz. container of Creamy Cool Whip and added a tablespoon or two of Kaluah to the icing which cut the sweetness a bit. It was perfect and I am now going to make it again for Thanksgiving for my family gathering. Whoever dreamed up this one gets a big A+ from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
This is a fabulous cake to make when entertaining. Everyone thought it was delicious and wants the recipe. Definitly not for children. mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This was very good. I made it and we ate it the first time a day later. It tasted good but 2 days after I made it we all thought it was the best the 2nd day. I don't know if the flavors went through it better but much better the 2nd full day after I made this. I made a 2 layer cake. I put part of the brown sugar mixture between the 2 layers. I wish I would have put the whipped crem mixture also between the 2nd layer because it makes plenty even with cutting the whipped cream down to 8 oz. like many suggested. Will prob. make again. Very rich. I used a homemade Kahula and tasted great with that. Not to overpowering at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rushmore, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
Oh my! This was one of the best cakes I have ever had! I used a cup of strong instant coffee instead of the liquer and used about 1/3 the amount of pecans (just because they are expensive) and an 8 oz container of cool whip instead of 12. It turned out perfect!! Definitely recommend this to anyone looking to indulge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clarion, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States