Pralines, Coffee and Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
I've made this recipe 4 times now and everyone flips over it. One thing you may want to consider: rather than spreading the frosting on the cake I split it evenly with sewing thread forming a top and bottom layer and spread the frosting in between, pouring the pralines directly onto the cake (otherwise the pralines melt the frosting!). When I serve it I put a small dolop of frosting on the side as well. This makes a much cleaner presentation. Make this cake. You will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
My husband and mother loved this cake, mom even asked for the recipe. I thought it was just good. I used Kahlua and as others mentioned, had way too much whipped topping even though only used 8 oz. One strange thing is, my Mom is caffeine sensitive and the next day she said she barely slept a wink, had wondered if I somehow served her a drink with caffeine in it, that's when I realized the kahlua must have been the culprit! She still took the recipe though, said she would serve it at a luncheon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GIA_ARTIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
This is WONDERFUL!! I used caramel liquer instead of coffee.....awesome! I used this for gift giving to our employees! I just used two 8x8 cake pans & split the pecan mix and then the topping in half. This worked out very well! Thanks for helping my gift giving!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEARDQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
Incredibly rich cake without the extra fat and calories of a cream cheese/pudding/whip topping! I used homemade Kahlua that's been around for a long time so don't know how it compares to store bought but the flavor was definitely strong! The praline topping is awesome, and a great, flavorful surprise under the frosting (which I made with only 8 oz. Cool Whip and still had way too much)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2003
I expected to really like this, but somehow it didn't hit my head right. It was the last thing to go off the dessert table at our neighborhood block party, and I noticed that a lot of people who took a piece didn't finish it. Maybe my Kahlua wasn't any good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
Great cake--everyone loved it. Using the 8 oz. cool whip is much better. Still had topping leftovers, but just freeze it! Stores well and great to pull out for a spoonful on pumpkin or chocolate cream pie or even brownies--ummmmm. The cake freezes well too. The cake goes far as it is rich and you can use smaller portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
I made this for Bosses' Day and took it in. It was a huge hit by everyone who tasted it. Several people have already asked me for the recipe. I changed it a bit by using an 8 oz. container of Creamy Cool Whip and added a tablespoon or two of Kaluah to the icing which cut the sweetness a bit. It was perfect and I am now going to make it again for Thanksgiving for my family gathering. Whoever dreamed up this one gets a big A+ from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
What a keeper! Have been asked several times for this recipe. While there's certainly nothing wrong with the suggested topping, I can't wait to try a simple glaze and see what happens. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
I made this cake with chocolate cake mix and Irish cream. The cake was delicious. The pecan topping, however, tasted grainy. I substituted 1 1/2 cups white sugar melted and caramelized, added the pecans and a pinch of baking soda, then poured the hot mixture over the cake. The topping was to die for and so easy. I used it to frost another cake (a friend used it on her carrot cake and got rave reviews). Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
Everyone LOVED this cake. I did use a chocolate cake mix and regular brewed coffee...it was to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States