Pralines, Coffee and Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
This was absolutely, hands down amazing. There is no other way to put that. The cake was delicious, the pralines were perfect and the frosting was spectacular. I did have concerns at first about the frosting. It didn't seem to thicken up correctly when I was beating it, but I went ahead and spread it on the cake, and stuck it back in the fridge overnight. It really helped. I made totally as is, but one thing I will do next time is a layer cake, proabably round our square, with pralines topping on both, after it's chilled, spread a layer of the frosting on top of one of the cakes, and drop the other right on top. Something I did do, that the folks who uploaded photos didn't, was to go ahead and frost over the praline layer. It helped cut a little of the richness (pralines and cream!) and was a nice surprise for those who didn't know it was there. I highly recommend going that rounte. I've already had 3 people ask me to make this for birthdays or other events just after trying it this first time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This cake is a hit every time I make it. The "cream" concoction makes the cake very moist and rich. I sometimes substitute the cool whip with whipped cream and that works well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LFerreira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheGoddessGiGi
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Very unique cake. It is really rich, and like some of the others said, it's definitely a 'grown-up' cake. I made it for a birthday, so to make it prettier I made two 8 x 8 cakes, put the pralines on top, then put icing in the middle and on the sides. I also reserved some icing to use as a border, melted some butter and a square of bakers chocolate and added that to the reserved icing. I put the border around the praline top, and at the bottom. The whole thing was absolutely delicious, and it looked great that way, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheGoddessGiGi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I made this cake for my church group, but I was disappointed. I really expected something amazing and this just wasn't. It was good, but not spectacular. There was way too much praline topping and too much frosting which annoyed me because I hate wasting food! I also was not that impressed with the frosting... not much flavor there. I just expected to be really "wowed" with this recipe after reading the reviews... and it was just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Great Cake! If I could, I would give it 10 stars. Needed a quick dessert for a Red Hat Party, everyone loved it. Use 1 cup instant Espresso coffee and added 2 tsp. Brandy extract to cake. For topping, used Fat-free White Chocolate pudding instead of Vanilla pudding. I had many requests for recipe. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Everyone loved this when I took it to potluck dessert, and have had repeat requests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This was very good. I made it and we ate it the first time a day later. It tasted good but 2 days after I made it we all thought it was the best the 2nd day. I don't know if the flavors went through it better but much better the 2nd full day after I made this. I made a 2 layer cake. I put part of the brown sugar mixture between the 2 layers. I wish I would have put the whipped crem mixture also between the 2nd layer because it makes plenty even with cutting the whipped cream down to 8 oz. like many suggested. Will prob. make again. Very rich. I used a homemade Kahula and tasted great with that. Not to overpowering at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rushmore, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I took this to a mardi gras dinner - it was really the hit of the party! You may want to try to use a deeper 13x9 pan, as the top layer/frosting makes the cake quite high. Putting a lid on most rectangular cake savers will end up smashing down the frosting. Won't look as nice, but will still taste fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I think of this as a cake for grown-ups. Its flavors are a bit sophisticated and complex. Always a hit - people remember it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaMock

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
great recipe; always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States