Praline Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Love these sweet potatoes! I have been making them for the Holidays and everyone loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Egads, just serve this for dessert! I would cut wayyy back on the sugar, especially in the topping, next time, but otherwise tasty. It did keep and reheat very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Best sweet potato recipe I ever had...made the additions of the vanilla and cinnamon as suggested. None was left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
We have a family recipe for praline sweet potatoes that we have served all my life. I did Thanksgiving out of town this year and didn't think to bring my recipes so I was scrambling for this one. I was so happy with how it turned out. Everyone thought it was the best ever, little do they know it wasn't the old family recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StevenandMaggie McClain

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
OMG... This was such a hit. Next time I'll have to double the recipe. I followed a few suggestions and used brown sugar, sprinkled the top with cinnamon and baked for 1 hour!YUMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I have never liked sweet potatoes until now! I originally made this dish for my husband and now I make it for the both of us every year for the holidays. This is the only way I will eat sweet potatoes. The praline topping makes this dish special as well as the heavy whipping cream. Update: This is a sweet dish, but oh so good! I have been making this recipe for 7+ years now. It is served at every Thanksgiving and Christmas dinner. I actually enjoy sweet potatoes now, but only as fries or Praline sweet potatoes. I do not like sweet potatoes boiled as I think they become watered down and taste soggy. Most people just add marshmallows or brown sugar and call it done. The key is heavy whipping cream and the Praline topping. My folks who never eat sweet potatoes, hence why I never ate them until I met my husband, liked this dish. I sometime make extra topping and put it on my pumpkin pie. Also, when I make my praline topping I do a little extra. I find I do not have enough and that is because I use a shallow baking dish, so the surface area on top is much larger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathyjo3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Galesburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wildwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This dish is fantastic! My husband is not a sweet potato fan and went back 3 times for more! This was the hit of thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaimee Lynn
Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I added about a capful of orange extract and approximately 2 teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice. It came out really well, plus it upped the flavor a notch without adding sweetness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This was very popular dish for Thanksgiving. I had people who claim they normally absolutely hate sweet potatoes actually enjoy this. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I have been making this recipe for years and my hubby (the world's pickiest eater) requests that I make this several times through the year! The only difference is I use 2 eggs instead of the 4. We are also now a gluten free family (Celiac's) and this adapts well using gluten free flour. If you try this be prepared for everyone wanting the recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 452) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Julie's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a sweet and savory sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States