Praline Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
These were terrible!!!...way too sweet for a side dish. No one cared for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
I think the recipe is really good,I love sweet things,but I found this recipe too sweet especially if you serve this dish with another sweet dish like glazed ham which I did,so just watch what you serve with it with because it's very,very sweet. theese potatoes are really great with less white/brown sugar,only in my opinion though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
Whenever I am invited to cook for an event they insist on me bringing this one! I leave the potatoes a bit lumpy and add some crushed pecans to the mix as well as the topping. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
I didn't like the way all the butter lays on the top. It's greasy. The topping didn't get crunchy like I thought it would and the flavor was not great. There are WAY better sweet potato recipes that are similar to this where some butter is added into the sweet potatoes and the topping is more tasty. This one does not do it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
I personally don't like sweet potatoes, but I got stuck making them one time and that was it. I have to make them for every family event. Everyone loves them even my pickest eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lake Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2005
I made these with my first ever Thanksgving dinner and they got raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
I find this recipe rather labor intensive so I only make it for special occassions. It is usually the dish I am requested to bring for all holidays and get togethers. Despite the amount of work to make this i am still giving it 5 stars because it is very worth the effort. This is like sweet potatoe pie without the crust. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Treeskitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
This dish is my favorite holiday dish. The flavor is out of this world. Ever time I make this dish, it always goes quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
This recipe is such a hit everytime I make it, everyone wants the recipe. Even if you thought you didnt like sweet pototoes, give this a try. I cut back the mega calories by using regular 1% or 2% milk instead of the cream. I also add nutmeg which really gives a nice flavor. I cut the brown sugar to 1/2 cup instead, there is plenty with 1/2 flour, 1/2 cup brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
I made this on Christmas & it was a huge hit. The Pecan topping is delicious! My mother-in-law asked me to bring it to her house on Easter! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 447) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States