Praline Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
For thos of us who like sweet potatoes - this was by far the favorite dish this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
I made these for Thanksgiving. Those who like sweet potatoes loved these...said they were the best they've had. Personally, I've come to the conclusion that I really do not like them in the first place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
This was a hit at Thanksgiving. I have a large family so I double the recipe with the following changes - did not double vanilla, added 2 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp nutmeg for more flavoring. Used condensed milk instead of heavy cream. Also added a lot more flour to topping mixture. Wanted it like apple pie crumb topping. Everybody loved it and wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
OMG!!!! I could so easily live on this stuff it totally rocks and it is sooo easy to make! Is it legal for food this good to be so easy? The sweetpotato part has a flavor that makes one think of custard and light delicate texture that is totally decptive in that this dish is deliciously rich. My mom does not care for sweet potato casseroles because of the sweet topping. But I think this would taste great with just say the nuts on top. The sweet potato part is just that good. And for convenience the potatos can be boiled and mashed way in advance and kept in the fridge or freezer and the same goes for the topping. So then the day you need it you can quickly whip up the sweetpotato custard and add your topping. Easy Breezy on the day of serving. I also found that using the conversion feature on this site worked successfully in allowing me to make a much smaller portion (2 servings) which is important as I knew I would be the only one eating them at our small family gathering. I think I might start keeping the fixings for this in my fridge so that I can make it as a treat for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
i made this for thanksgiving and everyone loved it! my husband, who doesn't like yams/sweet potatoes, went back for seconds and thirds. i've made this twice, with fresh yams and canned yams. with the canned yams i drained the liquid and cut the sugar in half. both times i added marshmallows. i put the regular sized marshmallows on top (evenly spaced) about 10 minutes before i have to take the yams out of the oven. the marshmallows puffed up and browned nicely, which makes for a pretty presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by e-s-t-a-r

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
This is a great recipe for sweet potatoes. I made it for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. Would be good anytime not just holidays. They all said I will have to make this evey year now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
I made this for Thanksgiving. I thought it was a nice change from the traditional candied yams. My husband did not like it as well as what we've had before. This recipe made quite a bit. If I make it again, I would scale it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
These were a nice change of pace for Thanksgiving sweet potatoes. I liked the taste of the sweet potatoes a lot more than the topping, but I'm not a big fan of pecans. The servings per recipe are off though. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
I wasn't really impressed. I used baked sweet potatoes. Maybe if I had used canned it would have come out a little sweeter, because of the syrup they are canned in. What was the point of the eggs??? The sweet potatoes weren't sweet enough to me and the topping was a bit too much. But maybe I am just used to the marshmellow topped sweet potatoes. I was thinking maybe next time I would use canned swwet potatoes and leave them whole and add the topping to them. I won't be giving up on them. Thanks anyhow for a change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tyna K.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Bloomfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
This dish was my favorite part of the Thanksgiving meal! Super delicious. I used a 2 qt round casserole and had left over topping so the sweet potatoes that didn't get ate on thanksgiving got baked with the additional topping the second day. Worked out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Poppy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyside, Washington, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 447) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States