Praline Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
Wow! This was the hit of Thanksgiving! It is very creamy and rich, so if you don't care for very sweet sweet potatoes, I suggest omitting the 1/2 c. of white sugar. I only used 1T of vanilla (that was plenty!), 3 extra large eggs, and added a sprinkle of cinnamon. I do think that the recipe is a bit vague when it came to the topping though. My topping came out perfectly and here's what I did. I let the butter come to room temp and cubed it. I mixed it with the other topping ingredients until the butter was well blended, there should be no loose flour or sugar. I baked it uncovered and had to let it go about 45 minutes. At 30 minutes, the top was still watery. You MUST leave it in until the topping is crisp on the edges and firm in the middle, that’s what makes it so good. I didn't see a need to double the topping recipe. This recipe is perfect to make the day before. Just make the sweet potato part, cover, and put in the refrigerator overnight. Make the topping right before you pop it in the oven and it’s perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
I made these twice, the first time I followed the recipe and found the potatoes to be a little too sweet for my familys taste but LOVED the topping. The second time I used your topping & I mashed the potatoes with a little cream, butter, cinnamon s&p &1 tsp vanilla. They were SOOO good. I had all 15 of my guests raving & asking for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chepachet, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
My entire family LOVED this recipe! It was such a hit. I used my mix master fitted with the wire whisk attachment to cream all the casserole ingredients together, and it worked really well. It turned out so smooth and creamy. I added about 3 tsp of cinnamon, and about 2 tsp of nutmeg which I think, was a really nice addition. I had a little trouble with the topping. Nothing serious, it may have been my fault actually (I might have measured the butter wrong I later realized) . It wasn't crumbly at all so I added extra flour and brown sugar until it got to the consistency that I was happy with. I mixed about 1 cup of chopped pecans in the the butter/sugar mixture and evenly sprinkled it on top. I then used 1 small bag (about a cup) of whole pecans and made a boarder around the edge. (The whole pecans got toasted during the cooking process and were SO GOOD!) I then sprinkled just a little extra cinnamon and nutmeg on top. I was able to make this in the morning and cover it and chill it until that evening when I put it in the oven. DELICIOUS! This will be added to the Family Holiday Faves! Thank so so much for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
This was the most amazing sweet potato recipe I have ever eaten..everyone was licking their plates.. I couldn't keep my daughter out of the pan.. she had a spoon in her hands the whole time and when you would turn around she was eating it... so if you are having many people to dinner, you better make two of these recipes.. when I bought my potatoes I made sure I got all the same size.. then I cooked one in the microwave to see how much potatoe I would get.. it yields 1/2 cup so then I put 7 sweet potatoes in a 9x12 pan in a 400 degree oven for 1 1/2 hrs until they were well done then took out all the sweet potatoe with a spoon.. it was exactly 4 cups.. I used 1/3 cup sugar and 1/4 cup firmly packed brown sugar because I like the flavor of brown sugar in sweet potatoes and added 1/2 tsp salt to the mixture, it brings out more of the flavor.. I also baked it an additional 10 min.. all ovens are different.. I was told I have to make another one today for the left over turkey...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
I made this for Easter dinner. I LOVE sweet potatoes, but hate the mess of "candying" them. This was the perfect solution. I used canned sweet potatoes to cut down on prep time and cut the sugar in half. I also just mixed all topping ingredients without the butter, then melted the butter and drizzled it on top. I also used only 1 egg, as I didn't want to take a chance on the dish being runny. It was excellent. Just sweet enough, and the vanilla added the perfect touch. Will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
Wonderful! I got so many compliments on this dish. It is sweet, but its a nice compliment to a Holiday dinner. I added more brown sugar and marshmallows for a nice thick topping. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2001
Absolutely AWESOME! Five stars +. And easy and fast to make, too. Thank you for sharing such a great recipe. It will be a Thanksgiving tradition for us from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
I used walnuts instead of pecans to give it a hearty flavor and texture. I also whipped the sweet potatoe mixture in my Kitchen Aid mixer for about 2 minutes to make it nice and fluffy. It turned out great. People who didn't like sweet potatoes even ate it- no left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: La Porte, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
Thanks for sharing this great recipe, Mike. Its so rich and creamy that it suggests being used for dessert as well as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
This recipe is so great!!!! Everytime a holiday or family get-together comes around, everyone asks me to make these. I don't mind, because it is such an easy one to prepare. I would recommend this one to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 450) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Julie's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a sweet and savory sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States