Praline Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
This is a great recipe for sweet potatoes. I made it for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. Would be good anytime not just holidays. They all said I will have to make this evey year now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
I made this for Thanksgiving. I thought it was a nice change from the traditional candied yams. My husband did not like it as well as what we've had before. This recipe made quite a bit. If I make it again, I would scale it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
These were a nice change of pace for Thanksgiving sweet potatoes. I liked the taste of the sweet potatoes a lot more than the topping, but I'm not a big fan of pecans. The servings per recipe are off though. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
I wasn't really impressed. I used baked sweet potatoes. Maybe if I had used canned it would have come out a little sweeter, because of the syrup they are canned in. What was the point of the eggs??? The sweet potatoes weren't sweet enough to me and the topping was a bit too much. But maybe I am just used to the marshmellow topped sweet potatoes. I was thinking maybe next time I would use canned swwet potatoes and leave them whole and add the topping to them. I won't be giving up on them. Thanks anyhow for a change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tyna K.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Bloomfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
This dish was my favorite part of the Thanksgiving meal! Super delicious. I used a 2 qt round casserole and had left over topping so the sweet potatoes that didn't get ate on thanksgiving got baked with the additional topping the second day. Worked out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Poppy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyside, Washington, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Really good & really easy to make! This is the best sweet potato recipe I've tried. I made it for Thanksgiving & it was a big hit!! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This recipe has become a classic and favorite around here. Just a few updates after yrs. of making it. First, white sugar is un-necessary... plenty on the topping. Also, I tried splitting the recipe into two graham crusts to use as pies for a bake sale and they were taken quickly. I have found this is at least a 45 min-1hr. bake. If you have a mix master, it helps get it mixed very well. I also toss in pumpkin pie spice and cinnamon or whatever I feel like. Make sure to use rectangle dish b/c the topping is plentiful! Get some on your plate b/c it won't last for leftovers!!!! (If using fresh, use 4 potatoes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This is certainly a five star recipe. I could have ate the whole thing myself. I did cut the recipe down for two people and it was excellent. I wouldn't make any changes to the recipe... it was perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This dish is maybe a little too sweet, even for a person like myself who's a sugar addict! I thought there was too much of the topping and not enough of a sweet potato taste. It tastes almost like a custard, with too much of an "eggy" taste for my liking. I made it for a Thanksgiving side dish, and it only received a lukewarm reception from my guests as well. I don't think I would make this again. FYI, I think the serving size is way off on this. This recipe is enough for probably more like 12 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This was great! My Grandmother said she REALLY liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 452) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Julie's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a sweet and savory sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States