Praline Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
This recipe is almost the exact recipe that my mother-in-law makes every Thanksgiving...and it happens to be my favorite. The only problem that I had was the topping wasn't as crunchy as I would have liked it. I think it needed more flour because the topping was slightly runny. It was still delicious! I even like it cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KStevenot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
This recipe was so good! At first it seemed a little too liquidy, but it baked perfectly!! A couple of my family members thought it was a little too sweet. Maybe lessen the brown sugar a little?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
I made this for Thanksgiving and have had to make it several times since. This is the best sweet potato casserole recipe I've ever come across! It's very sweet, but still retains the flavor of sweet potatos. I used canned sweet potatos once and it was still just as yummy. (I used canned sweet potatoes with NO syrup) I also cooked it a bit longer because I used a smaller, deeper dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
Whenever we attend a holiday buffet, this is my traditional sweet potato offering. There is always one sweet-potato hater in the group, and invariably this is the person who raves about the "casserole." It is rich, but the butter, eggs, and whipping cream change the texture of the potatoes. It becomes more appealing to people who insist they don't eat sweet potatoes. I never have left-overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
The best sweet potato recipe I've ever tasted! It does, however, taste more like a dessert than a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Beard Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: O Fallon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Amazing, wonderful - and good for you (that is what I am telling myself after all the helpings I had and my company had). It was gone in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
totally terrific. the smell and presentation takes your breath away. And I don't like sweet potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hillsboro, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Super! The hit of any holiday meal. My son who just left home wasn't going to come for dinner on Christmas unless I made these! First thing out of his mouth was...where's the sweet potatoes? A delicious dish, turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Acres, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
This recipe was the disappointment of my Christmas meal. I actually double checked the recipe after trying it to make sure I had made it correctly. Not one of my guests was impressed either. The praline crust was good, but the actual potatoe mixture itself was tasteless and flat. I expected a melt in your mouth, sweet-sweet potatoe mixture...instead it was bland, far too souffle-like for my liking, and not at all attractive. I will definitely not make this dish again and find a simple combination of sweet potatoes, butter and brown sugar to be not only much easier, but far tastier than this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Absolutely amazing! These sweet potatoes were a hit at my Thanksgiving dinner! I did not add the sugar to the potatoes themselves...I wanted the natural sweetness of the sweet potatoes to shine through, and it did wonderfully. Several of my Thanksgiving recipes called for pecans, but I could not afford them (they are rather pricey here!) so I used toasted chopped walnuts instead. Couldn't tell the difference! These potatoes have a wonderful smooth texture and the crunchy topping is incredible. Definitely a keeper...my husband insists that I make this dish a Thanksgiving tradition from now on! Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky_ME

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Turner, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 452) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Julie's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a sweet and savory sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States