Praline Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Amazing, wonderful - and good for you (that is what I am telling myself after all the helpings I had and my company had). It was gone in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
totally terrific. the smell and presentation takes your breath away. And I don't like sweet potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hillsboro, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Super! The hit of any holiday meal. My son who just left home wasn't going to come for dinner on Christmas unless I made these! First thing out of his mouth was...where's the sweet potatoes? A delicious dish, turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Acres, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
This recipe was the disappointment of my Christmas meal. I actually double checked the recipe after trying it to make sure I had made it correctly. Not one of my guests was impressed either. The praline crust was good, but the actual potatoe mixture itself was tasteless and flat. I expected a melt in your mouth, sweet-sweet potatoe mixture...instead it was bland, far too souffle-like for my liking, and not at all attractive. I will definitely not make this dish again and find a simple combination of sweet potatoes, butter and brown sugar to be not only much easier, but far tastier than this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Absolutely amazing! These sweet potatoes were a hit at my Thanksgiving dinner! I did not add the sugar to the potatoes themselves...I wanted the natural sweetness of the sweet potatoes to shine through, and it did wonderfully. Several of my Thanksgiving recipes called for pecans, but I could not afford them (they are rather pricey here!) so I used toasted chopped walnuts instead. Couldn't tell the difference! These potatoes have a wonderful smooth texture and the crunchy topping is incredible. Definitely a keeper...my husband insists that I make this dish a Thanksgiving tradition from now on! Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky_ME

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Turner, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
Second year I made this at Christmas. It's a huge hit --
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Made this at thanksgiving and christmas and it was a hit. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
PERFECTION! I made this for Thanksgiving and Christmas this year. I was never big on sweet potatoes, but I tried this recipe for the sake of my family. I was glad I did, now it is a favorite of my own! In fact, we were eating the leftover portions for breakfast this morning! I used eggnog in place of the cream which was great, and used pure cane sugar instead of white sugar. I have also prepared it using left over candied yams. This will be a regular in my house! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
The four stars are mainly for the topping because that was excellent but otherwise the flavor was a little lacking and I had to add a little cinnamon, nutmeg and ground cloves to make it taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
This is an excellent recipe though I had to make a few changes to cater to my families dietary restrictions. I added apple juice instead of cream and Splenda instead of the sugar. I also added a little sugar free maple syrup, 1 tsp cinnamon, .5 tsp nutmeg and .25 tsp clove. It gave it just the right spice. Very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 447) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States