Praline Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I have never liked sweet potatoes until now! I originally made this dish for my husband and now I make it for the both of us every year for the holidays. This is the only way I will eat sweet potatoes. The praline topping makes this dish special as well as the heavy whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathyjo3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Galesburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wildwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This dish is fantastic! My husband is not a sweet potato fan and went back 3 times for more! This was the hit of thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I added about a capful of orange extract and approximately 2 teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice. It came out really well, plus it upped the flavor a notch without adding sweetness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This was very popular dish for Thanksgiving. I had people who claim they normally absolutely hate sweet potatoes actually enjoy this. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I have been making this recipe for years and my hubby (the world's pickiest eater) requests that I make this several times through the year! The only difference is I use 2 eggs instead of the 4. We are also now a gluten free family (Celiac's) and this adapts well using gluten free flour. If you try this be prepared for everyone wanting the recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I used to make other kinds of sweet potatoes, but have only made this one the past few years because we love it so much. All that vanilla gives it a definite richness not found in other recipes. The best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
My family will not let me through the door without these sweet potatoes in hand. It's sweet, it's crunchy - the absolute perfect side to go with the ultimate savory meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Too sweet for my family and me. Didn't seem to fit as a vegetable side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennabean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
This is fantastic. I am required to make this every Thanksgiving! I did make a few changes. I used brown sugar instead of white and used only two eggs to give it more like mashed sweet potatoes and less like pie. I cut the vanilla back to one tablespoon, it is enough flavor without being overpowering. I also added 1/4 teaspoon salt, it really enhances the flavor. I've made this many times and I never used all the topping, I like it to resemble a side dish, not dessert. The kids love it and it has converted more than one "I hate sweet potatoes" resister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reb&Rob

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
awesome dish!! i double the topping and it is amazing...very sweet...just the way we like it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 447) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States