Praline Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
So yummie. It seems more like dessert than a vegetable dish. The first time I made it I didn't read the recipe correctly and combined the topping into the sweet potatoes......It was great like that, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOOKSROGERS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
I found this recipe online about 3 or 4 years ago and since then it has been a must-have at EVERY Thanksgiving dinner! My family pines for this delicacy all year long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
My entire family LOVED this recipe! It was such a hit. I used my mix master fitted with the wire whisk attachment to cream all the casserole ingredients together, and it worked really well. It turned out so smooth and creamy. I added about 3 tsp of cinnamon, and about 2 tsp of nutmeg which I think, was a really nice addition. I had a little trouble with the topping. Nothing serious, it may have been my fault actually (I might have measured the butter wrong I later realized) . It wasn't crumbly at all so I added extra flour and brown sugar until it got to the consistency that I was happy with. I mixed about 1 cup of chopped pecans in the the butter/sugar mixture and evenly sprinkled it on top. I then used 1 small bag (about a cup) of whole pecans and made a boarder around the edge. (The whole pecans got toasted during the cooking process and were SO GOOD!) I then sprinkled just a little extra cinnamon and nutmeg on top. I was able to make this in the morning and cover it and chill it until that evening when I put it in the oven. DELICIOUS! This will be added to the Family Holiday Faves! Thank so so much for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
Even better than the other sweet potato recipe I reviewed!!! I doubled the streusel toppping. Use the heavy cream, it makes all the difference!!! Will be used for this Thanksgiving and Christmas! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
This was a hit. I reduced the white sugar by 1/2, but quite frankly, I could have eliminated it all together. I left out the vanilla too. We had so many compliments on this dish. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
These were terrible!!!...way too sweet for a side dish. No one cared for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
I think the recipe is really good,I love sweet things,but I found this recipe too sweet especially if you serve this dish with another sweet dish like glazed ham which I did,so just watch what you serve with it with because it's very,very sweet. theese potatoes are really great with less white/brown sugar,only in my opinion though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
Whenever I am invited to cook for an event they insist on me bringing this one! I leave the potatoes a bit lumpy and add some crushed pecans to the mix as well as the topping. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
I didn't like the way all the butter lays on the top. It's greasy. The topping didn't get crunchy like I thought it would and the flavor was not great. There are WAY better sweet potato recipes that are similar to this where some butter is added into the sweet potatoes and the topping is more tasty. This one does not do it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
I personally don't like sweet potatoes, but I got stuck making them one time and that was it. I have to make them for every family event. Everyone loves them even my pickest eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lake Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 452) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Julie's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a sweet and savory sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States