Praline Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Really good & really easy to make! This is the best sweet potato recipe I've tried. I made it for Thanksgiving & it was a big hit!! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This recipe has become a classic and favorite around here. Just a few updates after yrs. of making it. First, white sugar is un-necessary... plenty on the topping. Also, I tried splitting the recipe into two graham crusts to use as pies for a bake sale and they were taken quickly. I have found this is at least a 45 min-1hr. bake. If you have a mix master, it helps get it mixed very well. I also toss in pumpkin pie spice and cinnamon or whatever I feel like. Make sure to use rectangle dish b/c the topping is plentiful! Get some on your plate b/c it won't last for leftovers!!!! (If using fresh, use 4 potatoes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This is certainly a five star recipe. I could have ate the whole thing myself. I did cut the recipe down for two people and it was excellent. I wouldn't make any changes to the recipe... it was perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This dish is maybe a little too sweet, even for a person like myself who's a sugar addict! I thought there was too much of the topping and not enough of a sweet potato taste. It tastes almost like a custard, with too much of an "eggy" taste for my liking. I made it for a Thanksgiving side dish, and it only received a lukewarm reception from my guests as well. I don't think I would make this again. FYI, I think the serving size is way off on this. This recipe is enough for probably more like 12 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This was great! My Grandmother said she REALLY liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
Best Sweet Potatoes yet! Made these for Thanksgiving after last years pick didnt get the compliments. Thanks Mike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valencia, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
Wonderful again this year!! I made this last Thanksgiving! It is the best sweet potato casserole I've ever had!! I've never even made a sweet potato casserole before and my 70 year old grandmother wanted the recipe. She said it was the best she'd ever eaten!!! I cut back on the amount of pecans I used; I think I used about a cup instead of 1 1/4. It was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MistyR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
AWESOME! The whole family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
My family has a very similar recipe to this with an orange zest, so we weren't blown away. I was expecting something more unusual on top - something to really signify "praline" so that's why I didn't rate it a five. It's still a great way to do sweet potatoes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
I made this for Thanksgiving and my sister said it was the best thing she's ever had for the dinner. Can't wait to make it next year. I followed the recipe exactly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 447) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States