Praline Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
Second year I made this at Christmas. It's a huge hit --
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Made this at thanksgiving and christmas and it was a hit. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
PERFECTION! I made this for Thanksgiving and Christmas this year. I was never big on sweet potatoes, but I tried this recipe for the sake of my family. I was glad I did, now it is a favorite of my own! In fact, we were eating the leftover portions for breakfast this morning! I used eggnog in place of the cream which was great, and used pure cane sugar instead of white sugar. I have also prepared it using left over candied yams. This will be a regular in my house! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
The four stars are mainly for the topping because that was excellent but otherwise the flavor was a little lacking and I had to add a little cinnamon, nutmeg and ground cloves to make it taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
This is an excellent recipe though I had to make a few changes to cater to my families dietary restrictions. I added apple juice instead of cream and Splenda instead of the sugar. I also added a little sugar free maple syrup, 1 tsp cinnamon, .5 tsp nutmeg and .25 tsp clove. It gave it just the right spice. Very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
For thos of us who like sweet potatoes - this was by far the favorite dish this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
I made these for Thanksgiving. Those who like sweet potatoes loved these...said they were the best they've had. Personally, I've come to the conclusion that I really do not like them in the first place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
This was a hit at Thanksgiving. I have a large family so I double the recipe with the following changes - did not double vanilla, added 2 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp nutmeg for more flavoring. Used condensed milk instead of heavy cream. Also added a lot more flour to topping mixture. Wanted it like apple pie crumb topping. Everybody loved it and wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
OMG!!!! I could so easily live on this stuff it totally rocks and it is sooo easy to make! Is it legal for food this good to be so easy? The sweetpotato part has a flavor that makes one think of custard and light delicate texture that is totally decptive in that this dish is deliciously rich. My mom does not care for sweet potato casseroles because of the sweet topping. But I think this would taste great with just say the nuts on top. The sweet potato part is just that good. And for convenience the potatos can be boiled and mashed way in advance and kept in the fridge or freezer and the same goes for the topping. So then the day you need it you can quickly whip up the sweetpotato custard and add your topping. Easy Breezy on the day of serving. I also found that using the conversion feature on this site worked successfully in allowing me to make a much smaller portion (2 servings) which is important as I knew I would be the only one eating them at our small family gathering. I think I might start keeping the fixings for this in my fridge so that I can make it as a treat for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
i made this for thanksgiving and everyone loved it! my husband, who doesn't like yams/sweet potatoes, went back for seconds and thirds. i've made this twice, with fresh yams and canned yams. with the canned yams i drained the liquid and cut the sugar in half. both times i added marshmallows. i put the regular sized marshmallows on top (evenly spaced) about 10 minutes before i have to take the yams out of the oven. the marshmallows puffed up and browned nicely, which makes for a pretty presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by e-s-t-a-r

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 452) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Julie's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a sweet and savory sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States