Praline Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I took this to Christmas dinner at the in-laws and it was very good. Not great, but worth making. I did add ground ginger, nutmeg, and cinnamon to the potatoes when I creamed them. I think that really helped it a lot! I also took the advice of others and 1 1/2 times the topping, but it did not need that much. The recipe is fine as written. Thanks for the recipe, Mike. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ecolter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manchester, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
Great recipe my family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cordova, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This will be the third year I've made these sweet potatoes. Every year my family demands that I bring them. However, I felt the potatoes were a little lacking. This year I added about some five spice powder and fresh ground nutmeg (just enough to add a little bit of flavor). I think it gives the potatoes a little extra something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookaholic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
I made so many changes I almost feel bad writing a review. But it was the praline topping that got my attention. It's just that my family likes sweet potatoes that aren't so rich 'n' sweet that they take over the meal. I cut in half the amount of sugar, vanilla and cream and reduced the egg by one. I even reduced the brown sugar by 1/4 c. Okay, I added nutmeg, cinnamon and melted butter to the potatoes. And let me say it was delicious!! Thanks to the "guidelines" of this recipe, I now have the PERFECT dish for my family. (I made the mistake of giving the tiny bit of leftovers to my sister-in-law. Note to self: double this next time!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Very yummy but I accidently melted the butter when I wasn't supposed to but it still turned out ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Thank you Mike. My family expects the same thing every year. I made this change to my Thanksgiving and now they have a new dish. Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Covington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
This was an interesting dish. The potatoes weren't very sweet, and weren't particularly good unless the topping was contained within the same bite. I think that it would be a good idea to swirl the topping into the mix so the sweetness and flavors can mingle better. Good recipe, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
I made this for thanksgiving and they were awesome. My husband who is not a big sweet potato person loves them. He has even been eating the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Always a Thanksgiving hit!! I never serve this without getting a compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
the hit of the meal.. everyone loved this dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 101-110 (of 447) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States