Praline Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
WARNING! Don't make this for your holiday table unless you are willing to make it EVERY year for the the REST of your LIFE! I've made this for at least ten years, it is such an enormous hit that now every TG and Xmas I am under strict orders to make this. I will add that every year there are fewer pies and sweets brought to the table because everyone fills up on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SolarMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SheCook
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Terrific! Never made sweet potatoes before and it was amazing. I used 3 eggs, 1 Tbs of vanilla and added just a touch of spice. The family really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This is the second Thanksgiving I have made these delicious sweet potatoes, tonight many people raved about it. Thank you so much for submitting this recipe. It's wonderful as is but I added orange zest, light sea salt, cut back the vanilla extract a bit and replaced it with a light splash of orange juice and VSOP Remy. Increased bake time to set 15 minutes more. Thank you again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I've made this every year for Thanksgiving for several years, and it's always a huge hit. In the past, I always followed it to the letter. This year, I forgot to buy heavy cream, but happened to have half and half on hand. I made the substitution and nobody noticed. I have decided to keep that change to save the calories and fat a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYWR
Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I make a version of this too, but do not add any sugar or flour, but add 1 cup of shredded coconut to sweet potato mixture. OOOHH so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This was amazing!! The only thing I changed was cut the white sugar from 1/2 a cup to 1/4 and only put in 1 TBSP of vanilla. Leave it all as is, it is delicious and was a hit at our Thanksgiving dinner. Everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
This is a yummy recipe but it definitely needs tweeking starting with half as much sugar. And the vanilla measurement is definately off. Who ever heard of 2 T of vanilla in anything?! I think there's a typo in the recipe and it's supposed to be 2 t not 2 T. 1 or 2 less eggs would probably make it better. I didn't make it that way but I didn't like the egginess and I noticed that some of the other feedback talked about this. I also added some cinnamon and nutmeg for more flavor. All in all, it's a crowd pleaser. Don't be afraid to adjust it to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This is a great recipe. I usually don't follow recipes but ran across this one and gave it a shot. I tweeked it alittle bit and it came out fantastic. Instead of 4 eggs I used 3. Brown sugar instead of white...not packed. 2 Tbsp Honey. 2 Tbsp melted butter. A pinch or two of cayenne. And for the struesel topping I decided that alittle crumbled bacon would make a nice addition to all the sweetness and the added heat. I'm sure the original recipe is just as good....but try this out for alittle change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I made this recipe and it was heavenly!!! But being in french culinary school I knew I might be able to make this a little more flavorful! So I used fresh baked sweet potatoes, and since they can be stringy I put about 3/4 of this mixture into the blender, this made the texture incredible creamy! Also another amazing thing to do is cream together the sugar and egg yolks, until ribbons form that melt back into the mixture, this is how . Also To make this especially fluffy, add the egg whites to a electric mixer and mix just until stiff peaks form ( fold this into the sweet potato mixture very last and don't over mix it!) This dish NEEDS salt (to taste) to bring out the natural sweet flavor of the potatoes. Also for acid I added the juice from a quarter of a lemon, and a couple table spoons of Gran Mariner.!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby W

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Tasty! For measurements, Sherry so impressed me with her measurement of how much a potato provided. I hadn't bought all the same size potatoes (bought a 2 pound bag of organics), I put a couple in a 1 quart measuring pitcher, filled it with water to 1 quart and ensured I covered the potatoes, then poured it off into a 1 cup measuring cup until I'd measured how much water came out. The remainder was my volume of potatoes. I had about 4 1/4 cups. I baked the potatoes for 1 1/2 hours (per Sherry again) and then scooped out the innards of the potatoes. I wound up with 2 cups of delightfully tasty mashed potato and no losses due to boiling in water. In summary, 2 pounds of sweet potatoes provided 2 cups of cooked, mashed sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by libertydoc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 447) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States