Praline Pumpkin Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
I've never reviewed anything on this site but I have never been as impressed!! Even though the filling didn't firm up as much as I generally like the flavour of this pie was phenominal! Add a little fresh whipped cream and you may want to skip dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I made this pie for our Thanksgiving dinner tonight and it was delicious! The only thing was the pie didn't quite set in the cooking time per the recipe - I left it in an additional 10 minutes and I think it could have used another 10. But, the flavour was wonderful and the praline crust added something special. I'll definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
This was terrific. The pecan layer in the pastry is a nice touch. I had no mace, and it didn't seem to lack anything
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leeloo
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I made this pie just to surprise my DH and BIL. They absolutely loved it! My Hubby said it was the best piece of pie he has ever eaten! I used half shortening and half butter for the crust and it was very flakey. I was worried after reading the reviews that the pie filling wouldn't set properly so I baked it for an hour (not including the pre-bake) at 325. It turned out beautifully and the filling was perfectly set. I definitely recommend that you should try this pie. Your family will thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leeloo
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
OH MY!!! I am not a baker so I love how easy this recipe is. I made one last week before Thanksgiving to see how it was before bringing it to my family. Holy Moly was it good. I gave a few pices to my friend who called me right away for the recipe. I ate the rest myself. Yes I ate 1/2 a pie before Thanksgiving was even here. I made 2 for my family and one for my bestfriend. Everyone loved it. My besfriend called the day after and said she had it for brekfast. I like it a bit less chilled so I took it out as we sat down for dinner. I will make many more of these pies over the holiday..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
the pumpkin part of the pie had a good flavor, but the praline section could be more pronounced. Next time will at least double it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UptownChef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
OMG, this is delicious. I didn't have light cream so I used 3/4 c. of heavy cream and 1/4 c. skim milk and it worked fine. Also didn't have mace so I just omitted it. I had no probs with it firming up and the added praline mixture on the bottom is to die for. I don't think I'll make a traditional pumpkin pie again. Thanks for such a delicious recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAWVU

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
This is great! Just like my mom used to make. You haven't had pumpkin pie till you've had this one. Never a slice left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This is by far the best pumpkin pie I have ever had. I used homemade pumpkin puree because my husband wanted "real pumpkin." I have made this twice now and the second time I didn't give the crust time to cool after it came out of the oven with the praline layer and it became swirled into the pumpkin. It was still very tasty but not nearly as nice looking as the first time I made it and there were two distinct layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodie85

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
THIS IS GREAT!! The praline crust adds the little extra something I think has been lacking in pumpkin pie. I was asked for the recipe by everyone in my family. One note...I used my regular recipe with the crust and it worked out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States