Praline Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
My husband loves this cake :~)This is going to be one of my "go to" recipes for a delicious but quick & easy dessert. After reading the reviews I adjusted the steps in making the frosting ~ mixed the flour into the brown sugar before adding them to the melted butter, making a roux. Cooled it slightly and whisked in the egg. Cook mixture for three minutes. Remove from heat and add pecans & vanilla. I did use more pecans too ~ 1 1/4 cups. I also exchanged 1/4 cup Amaretta for 1/4 cup of the water called for in cake mix directions and shortend the baking time to avoid the dry texture some reviewers mentioned... and, it turned out beautifuly. Thanks Hillary for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBORAHARV614

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2001
Easy to make. My praline mix never thickened like the recipe stated, so I just spread it over the cake anyway, and it seemed to work fine. I would recommend slightly underbaking the cake. I was dismayed when I pulled he cake from the oven and found the edges already very dark (although I baked it the minimum time stated on the box) and knew that I then had to put it back in the oven for another 8 to 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
This was a really nice change from a standard cake with frosting. After a horrible week I realized that I had to make something to bring to a barbecue still. I could have bought something, but everyone is used to home made treats from me. I have to say this was the easiest cake to make and I had all the ingredients on hand already, which made it even better. I did decrease the baking time by 10 minutes to combat the dryness others complained about. The cake was perfect. I also did have a little troubel with the praline frosting not thickening enough and most ended up dripping down the side of the cake pan. That is okay though, everyone just wanted the edges of the cake. I will sure keep this recipe in mind the next time I don't want to or have time to fix something for a pot luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
I took this cake to our weekly potluck at my office. I used a cake mix with pudding in the mix. I only allowed the cake to cool long enough for me to make the topping. I used walnuts because that is what I had on hand. And I messed up and added extra vanilla by mistake, turned out to be a lucky mistake. As chance would have it there were 3 cakes brought that day but mine was the only one finished, with raves and requests for the recipe. I will definitely make this again everyone loved it as did I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I always read the reviews, and I also took the advice of others and cut back on the initial baking time. I used a german chocolate cake mix (with pudding in the mix) as my husband doesn't like a cake unless it's chocolate. I altered the frosting just a bit, as I have another cooked frosting recipe that's similar. Instead of the egg, I used 1 egg yolk and 3 tbls. milk (2%). I cooked the frosting like my other recipe and brought it to a rolling boil, and cooked for 3-5 minutes. This is a great recipe, and it turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2001
This is a great recipe - I made it for my family and then brought what was left (not much) for my co-workers. Everyone raved over it. It's very easy to make. You may even want to make more of the praline topping for your cake because that is the best part. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Used a pudding in the mix good quality yellow cake mix, made as directed, 9x13 greased and floured pan baked for 35 min. Made frosting as directed in recipe seemed runny, poured on hot cake and returned to oven for 5 min. looked a little runny but had cooked up, was afraid to leave it longer so took it out, tasted very good, but leaving in oven 8-10 minutes would have made it carmelize. Should have done what the recipe said!I think it would be divine with some vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
We enjoyed this cake, however, you really need to watch the cooking time or it can become to dry. Next time I think I'll double the topping ingredients and see how it turns out. I only cooked it at 400 for 5 minutes and that seemed perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA
Living In: Streetman, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2001
I tried this recipe recently and found it to be extremely easy and quick to prepare. The taste was very good and appealed to all my family. The only small drawback was that I found that the cake portion seemed a little dry from the double baking time. But this could be easily overcome with possibly less initial baking time or perhaps using another brand of cake or making the cake from a scratch recipe that is more moist. All in all a good recipe and would be great for potluck supper, picnics, family gatherings etc. It's a great way to make a cake mix cake seem more special---like homemade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I made this cake and my family loved how moist it was. I have had repeat requests to make it again. I love that it is semi-homemade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States