Praline Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2001
This is a great recipe - I made it for my family and then brought what was left (not much) for my co-workers. Everyone raved over it. It's very easy to make. You may even want to make more of the praline topping for your cake because that is the best part. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2001
It was wonderful! and it was gone the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2001
I tried this recipe recently and found it to be extremely easy and quick to prepare. The taste was very good and appealed to all my family. The only small drawback was that I found that the cake portion seemed a little dry from the double baking time. But this could be easily overcome with possibly less initial baking time or perhaps using another brand of cake or making the cake from a scratch recipe that is more moist. All in all a good recipe and would be great for potluck supper, picnics, family gatherings etc. It's a great way to make a cake mix cake seem more special---like homemade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2001
This cake was very good. Next time I'll use more pecans and chop them more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2001
Pretty awesome for a cake mix recipe...of course, it's all about the topping. My husband raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2001
This cake is easy and fantastic. Everytime I serve it someons asks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2001
Easy to make. My praline mix never thickened like the recipe stated, so I just spread it over the cake anyway, and it seemed to work fine. I would recommend slightly underbaking the cake. I was dismayed when I pulled he cake from the oven and found the edges already very dark (although I baked it the minimum time stated on the box) and knew that I then had to put it back in the oven for another 8 to 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
I have made this cake twice now and both times were a hit, people love it and eat it up with a quickness. I did add more nuts because my family are nut lovers. It's great. I even did it as a 2 layer cake and put the praline mixture in the middle, sides and top of the cake. It can get messy, but it sure is pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
This is by far one of the best cakes I have ever had and my husband agrees. It is so easy to make, yet you can not tell by the look and taste. I have made this twice and it is one of the only cakes I have ever made that has no leftovers. This is a must try recipe, you probably have all of the ingredients right now anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N.NERO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightstown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Yorktown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
The topping on this cake is very good! It only takes a few minutes to whip up and is a nice alternative to regular frosting. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States