Praline Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
i used a yellow cake and put a few chopped nuts in my cake. wow is this good. its all about the topping but all in all its an amazing cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Anything with brown sugar, butter and yellow cake mix is a winner with me and this did not disappoint me! I did make a few minor changes; I substituted toffee chips for the pecans (just a personal preference), and mixed together a thin glaze of milk, powdered sugar and a touch of cinnamon, pokes holes in the cake just after taking it out of the oven and poured the glaze over top before topping with the brown sugar mix. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This cake was ok. It came out to heavy. Family said it was just ok. I probably will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
This is one of my favorite recipes & it always gets rave reviews. I don't bake the praline part as long as the recipe states though. Normally I only leave it in the oven for 3-4 min. Divine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Very good. Followed the suggestion of underbaking the cake before topping with the praline mixture and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
This was amazing! I make it quite often when I have company, they usually want to take some home and won't leave without the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I made this cake also cutting 10 minutes off the baking time. I substituted 1/3 c Peach Schnapps for some of the water called for in the cake directions. It was wonderful. Just a hint of peach with the caramel flavor of the frosting did the trick. Awesome recipe and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni Skinner Dawson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
I have made this twice. I doubled the frosting (we love the praline flavor). I made it the first time for a church dessert auction, it sold for $40! The buyers loved it! Will make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
One of the easiest and tastiest desserts one can make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessKimJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
I really liked this one and so did the kiddos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Boyar Ha Ha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States