Praline Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This is a great recipe to take a simple yellow cake mix and with very little effort, turn it into something unique and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Made this cake for my graduation last year and it was a hit. We put it our dessert tower, and about an hour into the party it was all gone! Awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
A FAVORITE with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MirandaJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
My 12 year old daughter surprise me with this cake; when I came back from my walk, my whole family loved it and can not wait to bake it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
The name of this cake made it sound better than it actually was. It was just a regular cake with a fairly thin layer of streusel on top. I think it would've made more of an impact if the streusel was doubled and came out crunchier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Totally delicious! I would recommend using Duncan Hines brand for a moist cake. I used their butter cake mix instead of yellow, and soo good. I added vanilla extract to the cake batter. The praline top is outstanding! For some reason, I did not have enough praline coating to coat the entire two round cakes, but I suppose I may have did something to screw that up. The cake was not very easy to cut and was crumbly, which is why I am knocking it down a star. But every easy to do. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I made this cake and my family loved how moist it was. I have had repeat requests to make it again. I love that it is semi-homemade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I always read the reviews, and I also took the advice of others and cut back on the initial baking time. I used a german chocolate cake mix (with pudding in the mix) as my husband doesn't like a cake unless it's chocolate. I altered the frosting just a bit, as I have another cooked frosting recipe that's similar. Instead of the egg, I used 1 egg yolk and 3 tbls. milk (2%). I cooked the frosting like my other recipe and brought it to a rolling boil, and cooked for 3-5 minutes. This is a great recipe, and it turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Used a pudding in the mix good quality yellow cake mix, made as directed, 9x13 greased and floured pan baked for 35 min. Made frosting as directed in recipe seemed runny, poured on hot cake and returned to oven for 5 min. looked a little runny but had cooked up, was afraid to leave it longer so took it out, tasted very good, but leaving in oven 8-10 minutes would have made it carmelize. Should have done what the recipe said!I think it would be divine with some vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
i used a yellow cake and put a few chopped nuts in my cake. wow is this good. its all about the topping but all in all its an amazing cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States