Praline Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
HAve been looking for a nut topped cake that goes in the broiler to crisp. My mom use to make for me and when she passed suddenly a few years ago this is one of the things she took with her. This recipe is very close, and I do make a few changes, add vanilla to cake, always Use milk in place of water (makes even box cakes moist and yummy) I used triple the nuts, chopped them up a good deal and used the broiler to crisp. The cake disappears quickly, even my pickey eaters love the crunchy top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
The topping on this cake could not be simpler to make, and it's incredibly tasty and sticky and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Made this for a friend's birthday and it turned out very tasty! We both ate...probably too much. Considering this took little effort, but still enough to show that you care, this is a pretty close to perfect cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Best cake recipe I've made in a LONG time!! All my co-workers loved it!! I followed other people's suggestions on under-cooking the cake and next time I will cook the cake the full cake time then add the topping. I had to cook with the topping an additional 20 minutes to get my cake to cook all the way through. I also used the Betty Crocker cake mix that already has the pudding in the mix. I poked holes in the cake before adding the topping so it absorbed in the cake and I'm glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babycynthia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This is a great recipe to take a simple yellow cake mix and with very little effort, turn it into something unique and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Made this cake for my graduation last year and it was a hit. We put it our dessert tower, and about an hour into the party it was all gone! Awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
A FAVORITE with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MirandaJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
My 12 year old daughter surprise me with this cake; when I came back from my walk, my whole family loved it and can not wait to bake it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
The name of this cake made it sound better than it actually was. It was just a regular cake with a fairly thin layer of streusel on top. I think it would've made more of an impact if the streusel was doubled and came out crunchier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Totally delicious! I would recommend using Duncan Hines brand for a moist cake. I used their butter cake mix instead of yellow, and soo good. I added vanilla extract to the cake batter. The praline top is outstanding! For some reason, I did not have enough praline coating to coat the entire two round cakes, but I suppose I may have did something to screw that up. The cake was not very easy to cut and was crumbly, which is why I am knocking it down a star. But every easy to do. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States