Prairie Meat Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Wonderful- didn't taste like the usual ketchup sweet meatloaf;although I used hoisin sauce in lieu of the ketchup... My husband who HATES meatloaf had two helpings. 'nuff said, this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I did not care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seguin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I accidentally added 1 tsp garlic salt, but it ended up tasting better. I also replace green pepper with celery and added chopped carrots. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Very tasty, moist and easy. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flanders, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ocean Grove, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I will never use oatmeal in this recipe again, the taste was gooey and slimy. I rate this less than 1 star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I cut this down to 6 servings. I ground my oats down in my food processor so they wouldn't have been as noticable. Instead of thyme and basil on it's own, I added a heaping teaspoon of italian seasoning (my homemade italian seasoning has both thyme and basil included with their other spices).I used Campbell's condensed beef broth and I also added a heaping teaspoon of worchestershire sauce, for extra flavor. This still made a decent sized meat loaf--enough to fill a 9 inch square pan. A little over an hour at 350* and it was done. For me, I was not a fan of this (though I will say I loved the flavor that the beef broth gave to the meat loaf) and my husband ate it, but he thought it needed a little more. We both thought it was quite mushy and even after cooling a little in the pan, it was still mushy textured. That said, my two boys loved this meat loaf and that surprized me because the littlest does not like most meat loaves. My oldest ate two and a half pieces and my youngest ate two small pieces. Out of the whole 9 inch square pan, two small pieces remain. I'd make this again BUT I'd use something else to bind besides oats, my husband and I thought a mixture of breadcrumbs, parmesan cheese and a little ground pork would be a good addition that would definitely firm up the meat loaf and add a little something that we think it's missing. I almost made a gravy to go over the top and I'm kicking myself that I didn't. I think this meat loaf needs a gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I halved the recipe, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly as written. I thought it had a good flavor, but the oatmeal was a bit much. My husband thought it overpowered the meatloaf and you didn't really get the flavor you expect when you have meatloaf. I did think it was moist and had no problem with it falling apart. The addition of the oatmeal did make it very filling, but it did give it a different type flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I don't know. This just didnt do it for me. It was okay though but I don't think I will be making it again. But thank you for sharing and the opportunity to try something new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This was a good way to add fiber to our diets without the taste. This was a great option to the same old meatloaf. More of a mashed potato and gravy meatloaf then a ketchup and scalloped potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbiana, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
this is really tasty and fairly simple and quick the only thing i changed was the celery for bell peppers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States