Prairie Meat Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This was fabulous!!! My husband has been a critic of my meatloaf ever since we have been together. (25 years). I never seem to make it the same twice. I calculated 6 servings and adjusted it to fit the recipe exactly, except I did not put the cheese on top, but the required amount inside. I feel the falling apart or greasiness others describe would be with the ground beef, cheese or eggs that they use. I used LEAN beef, good cheddar cheese, and farm fresh brown eggs (1- JUMBO) It was perfect! and we got the full benifit of the fiber in the oatmeal!! LOVE it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandcrab

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Greensboro, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
A good, easy recipe. I used smoked gouda cheese, which gave it a good, smoky taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Excellent but reduced by half and added sauce (double) from mom's meatloaf, this site. Also would try a little less liquid and add another egg to help hold together. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I just don't get it. I've tried meatloaf after meatloaf and nothing impresses. This was okay. My kids ate it only after we drowned it in ketchup. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Firm, presentable, contained a vaiety of spices and flavors, and then was almost tasteless!! It is one of the most bland meatloaf preps I have ever attempted. I added catsup at serving, in order to give it some pep. I HAD followed the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt.Quent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Iowa, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Made this with 2 lbs ground buffalo, omitted the broth, split whole wheat panko crumbs and oatmeal. Baked 1-1/2 hrs at 350 with a large baked sweet potato to which I added a tsp of Smucker's All Fruit apricot preserves and crisp steamed broccolli florets. Husband loved it. Less calories in buffalo, which we eat all the time. Great leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Little too moist, Kind of fell apart. Would scale back the broth to prevent that and needed some more seasonings.....kind of bland. Didn't really notice the cheese either. Cut the recipe in half and it still made 2 small loaves. Liked the idea of using oatmeal so would try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I did not use any of the spices, just eggs, bread crumbs and the CHEESE! I had never thought of putting cheese in my meatloaf. Thanks for the suggestion!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I cooked this exactly as written and it was the best meatloaf recipe I've ever tried. Terrific flavor. Thank you, Karen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Waleska, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Overall good taste . Needed more vegetable for our taste. Changes: used tomato sauce instead of ketchup, added carrots and ground flax seed to try to boost nutrients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States