Pozole in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2015
I did add the dried chili and rehydrated and blended in the blender as notted. However, I added a jar of Trader Joe's Hatch Salsa and this rounded out what I consider a good Mexican pork stew. Living in LA area, believe me this dish is everywhere. For me, I have to have to green salsa in this type of dish. If you don't have a Trader Joes, add Herdez green salsa or whatever you can find in your area, even if all you can find is green enchilada sauce. This really makes the layers of flavors pop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
I use this recipe a lot and it comes out amazingly each time! Just as great if you can only find 2 of the 3 peppers, or dried instead of fresh peppers (just soak overnight). I've also put in the slow cooker for half the time over high and the pork is just as tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
This is a good recipe, but I would highly recommend adding Mexican oregano or regular oregano if you don't have Mexican on hand. I had this at a friend's house last weekend and was looking for a copycat recipe and this is fairly close. Don't be fooled by all the peppers used in this recipe. It's not spicy at all. Edit: Okay, so I had my friends over after the first time making this, so I'm changing my rating. Based on the way I was told they make it, I made the following changes. Use 3 guajillo and 3 ancho chiles. Leave out the pasilla as it makes it taste more like an American chili. Second, is toast the peppers first. Use a tablespoon of olive oil and saute them with the onions on medium high heat until the onions are going translucent, then add the cumin seeds and garlic, then continue following the recipe. Toasting the peppers doesn't seem like a big deal, but it makes all the difference in the world as far as bringing out the flavors. I doubled the recipe and used 6 guajillo and 6 ancho peppers along with a 6 lb can of hominy. Use low sodium chicken broth, garnish with cabbage, onions, cilantro, sliced radishes and hot sauce and you've got a tasty, healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Homemade red sauce is amazingly easy and so much better than canned. Found all the chilies easy at the local Mexican Market. My husband loves Pozole and has been eating it all his life. However, he had never had it with the homemade red sauce. He said it was a winner! Best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Great recipe. I have made this so many times! I also tend to do it on stove top instead of slow cooker (it requires a lot of dishes/ kitchen tools to make!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I had heard tell of how good traditional pozole is and this was really good, just not quite as good as I imagined it would be. I wonder if this could be because I had to use all dried peppers, except for the fresh pasilla peppers I found. However, it was definitely yummy enough that I would make it again. I tried it both traditionally with cabbage and lime juice, and gringo style with sour cream, cilantro, and cabbage and both were good, but I did like the flavor and contrast that both the sour cream and cilantro gave it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
2nd time making this... I tweaked it. I doubled the garlic, used 2 chicken breasts instead of pork & did 2 guajillo, 2 pasillo ancho & 2 New Mexico chilis. My kids loved it... Oh & if you can find it Goya hominy is much softer than other brands...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Loved it and so did my husband. It was so simple too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
This recipe was okay, but the best way to make pozole is to omit the canned hominy, and buy the fresh/frozen variety. I find it in my frozen veggie aisle at my supermarket. It takes a bit longer to make, but well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by connie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
A++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers made in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States