Pozole in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I have been looking for a great pozole recipe for a long time, and this is it! I made a few modifications: I used 2 lbs of pork stew meat (already cut in chunks), and 1 1/2 lb pounds of espinazo (pork back bones), no pasilla on hand, so added 4 ancho and 4 guajillo, increased the garlic to 4 cloves. For the final step, I used a 32oz container of chicken broth and added 6 more cups of water because I used a 6lb can of hominy. The flavor is amazing! Don't forget to garnish with shredded cabbage, chopped onion, chopped radishes, and lime or lemon juice. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Don't like having to put the dish in a seperate pot from the slow cooker - I just added in the hominy and let it go for half an hour on high. Other than that, this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This is a wonderful pozole. The only change I made was using homemade chicken stock. Oops, I also didn't do the last step....by accident. i just threw the hominy in the crockpot and heated it that way. I did not know if the peppers were fresh or dried, but I was only able to find one of the chilis fresh and so I used dried for the two other chilis. This is terrific and I will make it again and again. Thanks so much for sharing Isabel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
This recipe was okay, but the best way to make pozole is to omit the canned hominy, and buy the fresh/frozen variety. I find it in my frozen veggie aisle at my supermarket. It takes a bit longer to make, but well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by connie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
A++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I use this recipe a lot and then add hot sauce to everything! Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA
Living In: Taylorsville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Loved it and so did my husband. It was so simple too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
2nd time making this... I tweaked it. I doubled the garlic, used 2 chicken breasts instead of pork & did 2 guajillo, 2 pasillo ancho & 2 New Mexico chilis. My kids loved it... Oh & if you can find it Goya hominy is much softer than other brands...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Homemade red sauce is amazingly easy and so much better than canned. Found all the chilies easy at the local Mexican Market. My husband loves Pozole and has been eating it all his life. However, he had never had it with the homemade red sauce. He said it was a winner! Best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Great recipe. I have made this so many times! I also tend to do it on stove top instead of slow cooker (it requires a lot of dishes/ kitchen tools to make!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers made in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States