Power Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
I too can not believe that this recipe received 5 stars!! In no way do the mashed up beans produce enough liquid for the rest of the ingredients. I don't understand how someone can give a recipe 5 stars if they have had to modify it in order for it to work. The result of this "cookie" recipe produces a VERY dry granola.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgend, Glamorgan, Wales, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
These cookies tasted fantastic and healthy, but like everyone else, I had to add about 1 1/2 cups of liquid just to bring the dough to the proper consistency. I used 1/2 cup each of applesauce, egg beaters, and skim milk. I also used dried pineapple instead of dates and added 1/2 cup of chocolate chips and 1 tsp almond extract...yummm! I eat these every day before my workout to give me some energy to burn! They're also great for breakfast when I'm in a hurry. Thanks so much for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
Absolutely delicious, very soft and moist! They are a perfect camping/hiking snack. The only variations I made were I added a ripe banana to the bean and sugar mixture, I used pecans instead of walnuts, and I didn’t add coconut. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karri-ann Flater

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lacombe, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
This would have 5 stars, but along with everyone else here, I added about a cup or more of liquid (vanilla soy milk) to the mix. Next time, I'll prob add a beaten egg white too. I also added mini dark chocolate chips, dried cherries, and chopped pecans instead of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Could the missing ingredient be eggs? After reading the reviews I added almond milk to moisten it but also added an egg to half the batch. The egg batch had a better texture and taste. I think next time I'll add some coconut oil too or maybe applesauce or prunes--it needs something to replace the lack of fat. A really good idea (adding the beans) and the dough is tasty--one good thing about egg free is the kids can eat it w/ no worries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
these were amazing. i only had red kidney beans and figured i'd give them a try. i put the beans and a 1/2 cup of plain soy milk in the food processor and added that mixture to the dry ingredients. i also added 1/2cup bittersweet chocolate chips instead of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
No one could tell there were beans in these cookies, and when I told them they still didn't believe me!! I even got some adventurous children to eat these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
A very interesting cookie.Usually I will always do a first time recipe exact and then alter it to my liking, but after reading reviews and seeing the lack of moisture in the recipe I decided to add 1 cup of applesauce. I then added 1/2 cup chocolate(dark) chips less coconut, only the brown sugar and less dates. I like sneaking good things into my teenagers diets as all the want is pizza & Macdonalds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
Wow!! who ever thought beans in cookies could be so good. Like everyone else though, I did need to add soy milk. Next time I make them, I think I will try to replace the sugar with agave necter, sweet and it will add some necessary moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
I added 1/2 cup of soy milk (as the recipe was a little too dry), and increased the dates to 1 cup. I got 22 cookies out of the recipe. My husband loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Healthy Banana Cookies

These chewy bites are so tasty, the kids won't know they're sugar-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States