Power Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
These were even better than I thought they would be. I did cut back a little on the sugar. I put these in a 13 x 9" pan and made bars instead of cookies. The dates make these so chewy and sweet. Thank you Healthy for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
My pickie kids loved these! I added 1/2 c of applesauce and a little milk in the end b/c it was a little thick. The cookies are chewy and amazing. I added raisins, dried cranberries and a few white choc chips (1/2 c) I wouldn't do the choc chips again, but the raisins and cranberries are GREAT. The kids don't like nuts so I left those out, but I bet those would be amazon gin them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Meredith
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I used the base (beans, oats, coconut) and sugar and spices of the original recipe but I tweaked it quite a bit. I substituted sunflower seeds and chia seeds for walnuts (I'm allergic) and dried cranberries and golden raisins for the dates (not a fan). I also didn't ground the oats. I thought they turned out really well. Definitely something tasty to eat before the gym or a mid morning snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Clover
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I recommend you DON'T DRAIN AND RINSE THE BEANS!! My cookies turned out fine without any additions. I inadvertently halved the sugar, but they still tasted fine. I used all raisins for half, and all choc chips in other half - cookie scooped half, rolled other half between 2 pieces of parchment paper and cut in squares. 48 cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Glad I read the reviews on this cookie before making it. I also added 1 cup of applesauce and 1/2 cup of skim milk, would have been way too dry without it. My college age "health conscious" daughter ate three of them right out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Yum! This is an excellent recipe! My family loved it! Finally, a healthier recipe that I can make again and not feel guilty about eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Must add a "liquid" - I used applesauce and it was good. Water, milk, egg whites or an oil would all probably work... and amount anywhere from .5 cup to 1.5 cup depending on preferences is needed. Any bean will likely work -I used canned garbanzo beans and was happy with the results. I used a blender to grind up the oatmeal and then to mush the beans - This is also where I added the applesauce as it was to dry to blend. (Also added the vanilla and powders here) I did everything else in a stand mixer. Personally I think you could use .333 c each on the sugars. This was plenty sweet. These do not "brown" up or flatten out like normal cookies. they just dry up/firm up some... Don't expect them to look like toll house cookies! I got 42 cookies from the batch. I used well rounded teaspoon "drops". Don't tell the family they are bean cookies and they won't know or guess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
The first time I made this recipe, the cookie dough was dry so I added water. They were tasty, so I looked up this recipe on other sites and found that they weren't draining and rinsing the beans. Voila! That make all the difference... DON'T DRAIN AND RINSE THE BEANS. Makes perfect healthy and delicious cookies. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cottagegirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I was looking for a good gluten free cookie recipe and this one fit the bill. Although not usually one to change a recipe and then rate it, like others suggested it needed about a cup and a half of liquid (I opted for soy milk). I also pureed the beans and milk together and added a pinch of salt. You can pretty much change the dried fruit choices to your liking. The outcome was a moist, dense cookie. Will definitely keep this recipe. Next I will try dried cranberries, white choc chips, and macadamia nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I followed the advice of other reviewers and added 1/2 c. apple sauce, 1/2 c. almond milk, and 1/2 c. egg whites. Very moist and delicious. I think I'll add less sugar next time. They are pretty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States